arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Resolutions (what, again?)

with 10 comments

It’s days after the New Year’s Day celebrations and those of you who make New Year’s resolutions have probably already made them.  I have a somewhat contrary friend who proclaims the he “…doesn’t make New Year’s resolutions.  I just make resolutions when I need to.”  I think this is all well and good if you’re particularly adept at noting things that need to change or be improved on in your own life.  I find that I get caught up in the day-to-day enough that I sometimes miss the slow “build ups” that need the good polishing of a resolution.  New Year’s is as good as any other cyclical time to take a long hard look and make a state of the union address for yourself.

Some goals, in no particular order…

  • I think I’d like to do another read through the Bible in a year program.  I’ve done this three times now and have enjoyed the discipline and practice of it very much.  And it’s helped familiarize me with the dusty cobwebby parts of the Bible they don’t teach you in church.  This year, I think I may see if I can find a book that’s just the New Testament and Psalms & Proverbs, just as a change of pace.
  • I want to finish the whole weight loss thing this year.  When I started, I was 248.  Now, I’m within 5% of the body fat percentage I want to be.  It’s getting harder to lose the last bit of weight but I’ve come so far and I’d love to just be done with it.  Seeing this out in writing out on the web is a pretty good motivation to finish since people will be ask “so how are ou doing with that”.
  • I’m going to continue my education by taking the next German class and maybe a few business classes as well.  It sounds nerdy, but it would be a fine thing to be able to know how to use MS Access.  Maybe I’ll take a seminar in that this year.
  • I will take at least two trips to places I’ve never been to next year.  The goals, at the moment, look like Germany and Brazil.  No traveling and surprising people this time out.  Turns out, some people do’t like that.  Anyways, it may come down to San Diego and Santa Ana for me, but I will definitely do more traveling.  Hate the plane rides but I love the cultural experience and the chance to shoot photos.
  • Lastly, I’ll try and be less closed off.  One of the critiques of me I’ve heard is that I’m hard to get to know.  Actually I’m not…. it’s just that I have to be interested in wanting to know you too.  I suppose that’s the rub.  I already have a lot of quality friends and it’s hard to keep adding more and feel like I’m being a good friend to them.  What I’d like to learn is how to be able to be a good aquaintance.   Just a person you say hello to and spend a little time with but not necessarily go the whole nine yards.  I currently suck at this and it’d be a good skill to develop.

So there they are.  The “resolutions for 2006 off the top of my head.  I’ll let you know how I do.  You guys made any?

Written by arnold

January 9, 2006 at 12:32 am

Posted in Personal

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, I did the weight thing too. I started a little before New Year’s, because I felt like it would be more effective that way, somehow. I’ve lost 6 pounds so far. And I’m working on relinquishing my right to pet peeves. I let certain things ‘get to me’, and I don’t want to be that person anymore.

    And on a more superficial level, I want to find a new hairstyle that I actually like and will maintain. I’ve been letting it grow out because I get WAY more compliments when it’s long, but then I never like how I style it, so it ends up rather drab. I need a training session or something.

    Peggy C

    January 9, 2006 at 8:49 am

  2. This year, well actually the next eighteen months, I plan to be more studious. This means that mk my opportunity cost for it is that I relinquish my social life. I plan on being more of a hermit than a social butterfly and that’s okay because for once I think I have set my priorities straight.

    And to Peggy…I don’t know you but we posess a commonality…I’ve been growing my hair out for a couple years now and I too am presented with the catch 22 of long hair. Many people say it’s much prettier long, but there are far less styling choices…So, I recommend a loose wave throughout many choppy layers…I like it, but ask your stylist if it will work for your face frame before you take the plunge. Keep it long…you’ll be happier in the longrun…get it?!??? 🙂

    Tricia

    January 9, 2006 at 12:06 pm

  3. Funny! That’s pretty much how it is now, but my hair’s really thick, so as soon as it gets any length to it, the front falls in my face. And with the winds, it’s horrible! I have the choice of plastering it in place with lots of gel and hairspray, or pulling it back with a headband or barrettes. Neither appeal to me. But I don’t want to go too short in front and look like I have a mullet.

    I’m doing the same thing as Tricia with my studies. I’m taking fewer units this semester so I can really focus on them, and I also have to cut into social time to make it work. But since I’m fairly anti-social, it won’t be such a sacrifice. 😉

    Peggy C

    January 9, 2006 at 4:54 pm

  4. I’m talking about expanding horizons and bettering one’s self and you guys distill it down to hair.

    On the other hand, Men’s Health, in their things to do in 2006, recommends that men splurge and get a $100 haircut from the shop owner him/herself!

    Don’t know if I’ll do that… but I may bet a $100 bet on a football game this weekend. I like to try and do at least one “out of my comfort zone” thing every once in a while to remind myself that I still have boundaries that need to be pushed. I’m not a gambler… I rarely play anything but roulette in Vegas and even then it’s low stakes. But it would be fun to be able to say I bet big at least once. My boss’ horse won a big race last year. I could have made $5000 if I hade made my bet then 🙂

    And in the irresistible urges category, I’m dying to throw a shake at a car. Just one day, if some car splashes everyone on the sidewalk with gutter water or nearly runs people down in the crosswalk… BAM…. chocolate shake on the rear window. That’s living!

    arnold

    January 10, 2006 at 1:54 am

  5. Peggy, just a last ditch effort on the long hair issue: you should have your stylist thin it out with inside layers. That way it will lay flatter and still have style. Also, have you ever tried side-swept bangs. It will give dimension to your hair and keep it out of your face without making you look like you have a mullet. Oh, and for the wind put a little antifrizz cream on the ends once it’s dry and use a scarf tied as a headband…so cute. Good luck with all of that and good work on the studying.

    Arnold, these happen to be quite important issues, so your sarcasm will not be tollerated…just kidding…I say get the $100 haircut. You may love it, you may hate it, but at least you’ll never wonder what could have been. Plus, it’s hair…it grows back. And don’t waste a perfectly good chocolate shake…throw a strawberry or vanilla shake instead.

    Tricia

    January 10, 2006 at 11:59 am

  6. Soooo should I just keep my mullet resolution to myself, or…

    The Kyle

    January 10, 2006 at 12:25 pm

  7. Kyle…i think we all can agree that a mullet would be among the many bad hairstyle choices you might make. Please don’t or I won’t be seen in public with you. And you should try posting on your own site for once.

    Tricia

    January 11, 2006 at 11:13 pm

  8. Kyle! I have checked with many of the local hair stylists here and they have unanimously agreed that a mullet would be an excellent, nay, the only reasonable style for you. grow and flaunt it my friend! or let me at least have a vicarious mullet through your party in the back. Don’t listen to tricia, she should grow a mullet too. and arnold, I simply reference the picture above the downstairs computer. you can do it…again. gosh, i love mullets.

    Dustin

    January 12, 2006 at 6:47 am

  9. Hey Arnold,
    248# surprised me! You’ve done a great job! If a milk shake is ever tempting, you can buy it, then throw it at car (not mine) and you will have killed 2 birds with 1 stone!
    As for the hair dilemmas…….I never thought of myself as high maintenance, except when it comed to my hair. I’ve had the same hair dresser for 14 years. Nobody does a better job! where does the high maintenance part come in, you ask? He’s in Hawaii. I moved to Texas almost 5 years ago, and yes…..he still does my hair! Medium length, long layers, easy to maintain……lots of compliments.
    I will continue my nurse anesthesia studies, continue working out, start attending mass more regularly, and begin Bible studies, and be nicer to my mom.

    joyzelle

    January 13, 2006 at 11:05 am

  10. To Dustin…I will not be growing a mullet, and to Kyle…don’t listen to Dustin.

    Tricia

    January 15, 2006 at 1:16 pm


Leave a Reply

