arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

the January 15th Box Office

with 5 comments

Here’s what IMDB is listing as the winners of the weekend at the box office and my takes on them:

1. Hoodwinked (2005) – Little Red Riding, the day after.  not gonna see this one.
2. Glory Road (2006) – basketball movie.  I dunno.  maybe on a slow weekend but I feel like I’ve seen enough of these high school punks turned stars with heart movies.
3. Last Holiday (2006) – Queen Latifah flick.  I haven’t seen one of these since the Steve Martin one.  Eugene Levy was pretty funny in that… “You got me straight trippin’ Boo!”
4. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005) – I still can’t believe I haven’t seen this yet.  Sure i know it’s LotR Light but I loved the series when I was a child and I’m sure I’ll love the movie regardless.
5. Hostel (2005) – O. M. G.  This movie has sworn me off Hostels and Slovakia and talking to creepy people on trains (not like I was a big fan of this to begin with).  I’m not much of a horror/suspense fan anyways, I really just went cause the guys were going and I was getting ribbed for wanting to skip it.  Yeesh.  It’s an interesting premise in that these backpacking revelers debauch their way through Europe paying for any pleasure they want and end up being victimized by that same mentality.  I don’t like these movies cause I usually empathize with the characters (if the move is done well… I understand people cheered when Paris Hilton was offed in her last horror flick) and feel so bad for them after. That and I think about the possibility of people really being this inhuman to one another.
6. Fun with Dick and Jane (2005) – Jim Carrey. Ick.  He’s run out of new characters.  Like Bill Murray.  Oh wait… he’s only played himself in all his movies.
7. King Kong (2005) – O.M.G.  Go see this movie.  Run.  Girls… don’t be afraid that it’s a guy movie.  You’ll like it. Guaranteed.
8. Tristan & Isolde (2006) – I know of the opera of the same name but I haven’t heard of this movie much.  Lots of radio ads, but haven’t seen any TV ads.  And I understand the release date was pushed back.  Usually not a good sign.
9. Brokeback Mountain (2005) – Despite the relentless teasing I’ll get, I’m gonna go see this.  It’s gotten so many nominations for best picture, and acting awards, well, that’s got to mean something.
10. Cheaper by the Dozen 2 (2005) – Oh Steve Martin.  Hasn’t he done this genre to death?  Maybe it’s me imagining he’s done more family comedies than I think.  It sure seems like a lot.

There it is, the top 10 of the weekend.  I’m still looking for Hollywood to put out some really great films.  Kong is a start.  While I’m normally a sci-fi fantasy or comedy fan, I’m in a season of really appreciating something more dramatic and heady.  Hopefully, we’ll see more of that.  Oh… and I haven’t seen Harry Potter yet but it’s on my list of movies to see.

Written by arnold

January 16, 2006 at 1:40 pm

Posted in Entertainment

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yikes! You haven’t seen Harry Potter OR Narnia yet?? What’s the world coming to? And I really want to see Hoodwinked–it’s getting a lot of positive feedback. I was supposed to go see T&I at a screening but I had to back out at the last minute. It’s getting lukewarm reviews. Enjoyed King Kong, won’t see Brokeback Mountain regardless of who recommends it or how many awards it receives.

    Peggy C

    January 16, 2006 at 5:39 pm

  2. Glory Road was really good. Originally I would not have ever paid to see this movie, but once they got me into the screening, it had some depth. “Inspirational sports” is my least favorite genre but this one is ok.

    Syriana? Munich?

    rachel

    January 17, 2006 at 8:30 am

  3. Both of those are interesting to me, Rachel, just lower on the list. I think the topics of both movies are important ones, one as a current event and one more historical.

    With regards to Syriana, just kind of tired of the political arena right now. Seems the two party system in America today means we’re at opposite poles and it’s more combative than I care to be a part of right now. My interest here would be how they tell the story. From what I understand, the storytelling is similar to Traffic and Nashville… the whole interweaving of stories that tell a greater story. If you want to really see this done in an amazing way, see Robert Altman’s Nashville. You watch thinking, what do any of these thigns have to do with the other, then it all comes together in a very natural yet remarkable way.

    Munich… I can barely remember the even back in the recesses of my mind. More about people talking about it than the event itself. Probably the same way my neice will understand 9/11. I just remember it was a dark time, people were sad and sad things happened. I want to watch the movie, but I’ll need to be in the mood to watch something that dark.

    arnold

    January 17, 2006 at 3:36 pm

  4. Arnold, I’ll join in with the throngs of people (both silent and Peggy C) by saying that you HAVE to go see Narnia. That movie was great at showing how we’re involved in something so much bigger than ourselves. Loved it. As for Brokeback Mountain, I’ve heard mixed reviews. There have been a good handful who have said that it’s only getting the attention (and the awards) that it’s getting because of the subject matter. ‘Course, that does bring up an interesting point. Is the fact that it’s a “groundbreaking” movie – not just by being about cowboys who find themselves attracted to each other (I’m sure you can find those on the internet), but showing in the way that Ang Lee did – mean that we can lower our standards for directing and acting?

    Cubby

    January 19, 2006 at 7:39 am

  5. That’s an interesting point you bring up and one that’s worth discussing. It took me a couple of times to get exactly what you’re syaing. If I understand you right, you say :

    “Is the fact that it’s a “groundbreaking” movie – … – mean that we can lower our standards for directing and acting?”

    Are you saying that choosing to see a movie based on the criteria that it’s good directing and good acting but may be of questionable topic is a lowering of our (moral) standards?

    arnold

    January 19, 2006 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

