arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Grammies, Shmammies

with 9 comments

I just couldn’t do it.  I couldn’t watch the Grammies last night.  I did spend about 45 seconds reading MSN.com’s recap of the night and aside from Mariah Carey’s and the Gorrilaz’ performance, I didn’t see anything I really wished I had seen.  The show seemed to be yet another celebration of the same names we’ve seen in the music business for years.  Ah…. you say….. that’s because they’re so talented and they deserve the recognition. Really?  REALLY!?

I’ll go ahead and say it.  U2 is highly overrated.  There, I know you feel better on some level.  Sure, they were groundbreaking with Sunday Bloody Sunday and Joshua Tree.  But Sunday has healed and the tree is looking like it needs some watering.  They performed that inane iPod commercial background “Vertigo”.  I’ll quote you a vaunted U2 lyric: “yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah”.  Admit it, U2 continues to sell records because of Bono’s humanitarian work and the cool factor that society gives U2.  I will remind you that society also thinks that Paris Hilton, the Olsen twins and Britney Spears are just as cool.

And Coldplay?  I mean, yes, we all bought X&Y, but it was a nice record and its shelf life is over.  Will anyone be listening to that 10 years from now?

I suppose to one extent it’s not completely the Grammies’ fault.  Besides the big corporate rock stars what’s left?  The weepy guitar based emo boys like Death Cab and Bright Eyes?

The last album I listed to over and over and over (besides X&Y… and lets’ face it, I was only listening to “Fix You”) was the soundtrack to O Brother Where Art Thou.  I can sing every song on that album.  Where is that CD?  The next great CD that sits in the car for weeks going round over and over?

Uh… so who are YOU listening to?

Written by arnold

February 9, 2006 at 11:17 am

Posted in Entertainment

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am at a loss for words. I thought I knew you. Are you having a crisis? Did you decide to take it out on U2? If my memory serves me right, I remember driving in your car to Starbucks listening to Vertigo when it first came out. May I quote you…”I think this (referring to Vertigo) is one of the best albums they have put out.” Why? Why must you be bitter towards U2?

    U2 Fan

    February 10, 2006 at 8:25 am

  2. Arnold, I’m going to have to at least stand up for them. They are sooooo good. They just have feel-good music. If you’re in a funk, just put on one of their cd’s and it just makes you feel peechy. And speaking of feel-good music…ummmm…James Blunt. I’m listening to him right now and he’s for sure one to watch and listen for in the future.

    I like U2 too

    February 10, 2006 at 10:57 am

  3. Eels with strings. Loudon Wainwright III. Green Day/American Idiot. Chris Isaak. The Mavericks. Violent Femmes. Bruce Springsteen/Devils & Dust. A few selected cello albums. Any of those can be found on my stereo or iPod, and I can listen to them over and over. Of course, none of them were new this year.

    And I’m with you–didn’t watch the Grammies, and am done with U2.

    Peggy C

    February 10, 2006 at 10:22 pm

  4. that’s all.

    U2 is the most important and infulencial band of our lifetime

    February 11, 2006 at 12:18 am

  5. First off, Arnold – do not ever let my wife hear you speak blasphemies against U2. She will be on such a tear that she will find a way to go “Eternal Sunshine” on you (but backwards) and remove you from everyone’s mind, then find you a remote island to stick you on, bound and chained to the lone tree. Though I personally am not that…uh, excited about U2, you do have to respect them for the groundbreaking music they have put out and acknowledge the influence and excitement they bring to a musical world that is all too often filled with drab, lifeless, and inane crap (and you can’t put “yeah yeah yeah…” on this site as an example of U2’s lyrical prowess. 11th commandment – Thou shalt not judge a band on the strength of one lyric. C’mon Arnold, you know better than that).

    And now, onto more important drab, lifeless, and inane crap – what I am currently listening to: David Crowder’s new cd “Collision” is having a difficult time being removed from my car at this present time. It’s just too good. I’ll have one song on repeat, get tired of it, and then move onto the next track and do the same thing to that. On a cd of 20+ tracks, it’s going to take a long time.

    Cubby

    February 11, 2006 at 1:39 pm

  6. You guys are acting like I said they weren’t good. What I said was their best years are behind them. Stop looking at Bono’s global work and only look at the band’s music and you’ll see what I mean.

    U2 Golden Years (when they were good)
    1980 – Boy – still newbies
    1981 – October – learning a thing or two
    1983 – War – one of the better albums, it gives us Sunday Bloody Sunday (personal recomenedation… watch the movie about the historical event), New Year’s Day, Two Hearts Beat as One
    1984 – Pride – In the Name of Love
    1987 – Joshua Tree – With or Without You, I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, Streets Have No Name
    1988 – Rattle & Hum – Desire, Angel of Harlem, When Love Comes to Town

    U2 Decline (the overrated years)
    1991 – Achtung Baby – Mysterious Ways (all further U2 songs are cut from this same song mold)
    1993 – Zooropa – cuh-rap
    1997 – Pop – cuh-rap
    2000 – All That You Can’t Leave Behind – Beautful Day (In other words… Mysterious Ways II)
    2004 – How To Dismantle an Atomic Bomb – Vertigo (Mysterious Ways III)

    arnold

    February 11, 2006 at 3:51 pm

  7. While you think your observations are highly accurate, in order to save a friendship I think I will agree to disagree with you. If you want to start ripping on a band…why don’t you rip on the ones that have copied U2 for years. Can you say Cold Play? Which by the way, I saw them in concert last week. They were great! At one point I closed my eyes and it was if they were trying to sound like them. Maybe it’s proper to recognize the incredible influence U2 has had on countless bands. I am highly disappointed with your statement that they are overated. You realize you are controdicting statements you previously made? What is going on? Do you have some bitterness with U2? Are you sad they haven’t written a song about you? Oh wait, I think they have. Want to guess which song I think it is?

    U2 Fan

    February 11, 2006 at 4:03 pm

  8. Yeah… it’s probably Stuck in the moment.

    No question.. they’re a very influential band. I’ll go back to what I’ve been saying all along…. they’re not as good as they used to be (that is… overrated).

    In fact, my guess is the best/most requested songs at the concert are the pre 1988 songs.

    But don’t get me wrong. I think they’re good. If it weren’t for the Rolling Stones, I’d say they might be the best touring rock band ever.

    arnold

    February 11, 2006 at 4:06 pm

  9. Arnold’s right. What he said. I own U2’s last two albums but hardly ever put ’em on. The older stuff is better songwriting.

    But Bono’s homily at that Prayer Breakfast was frickin cool.

    Listening to: Beck/Guero, anything World Music, classic Russian music (esp. Tchaikovsky), Caedmon’s Call/Share the Well, Peter Hicks/Until We See, anything Nik Kershaw, etc.

    DanteOFpasadena

    February 11, 2006 at 10:24 pm


Leave a Reply

