arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Oh and I’m allergic to salt.

with 11 comments

It used to be that when someone hosted a dinner party, you accepted gladly, showed up on time and brought a bottle of wine with you.  You ate whatever was brought to you… picking out the things you didn't eat or just vaguely moving the food around your plate if you didn't like it at all.  And if the meal was inedible, you told the hostess it was great and stopped off for burgers on the way home.  That's just the way it was.

Things are very different now.  As you read in the previous post,  I made dinner for some friends.  My other group of friends heard the story in our weekly catch up dinner.  "We never get dinners like that" was whispered from one girl to the other.  Internally I was screaming "Because you people are impossible to cook for!"  I've known these people a long time and the comfort level in saying what's on your mind is pretty much "say whatever you want".  Which inevitably leads to disaster.  Doom, even.

Against my better judgement, I invited these guys to Easter dinner. 

"How about the traditional lamb?" I says. 
"I don't eat lamb.  Can you make something else?" 
"Why don't you eat lamb? You eat chicken, pork and beef!"
"No reason I can think of.  I just don't."
"Well I guess I'll have lamb and some chicken dish too."

See?  So now I'm making an extra dish because someone doesn't really have a reason.  I don't mind making a second sauce because someone is lactose intolerant or pulling aside some shrimp because someone can't have citrus in the marinade or even having someone skip dessert because they can't have dairy or sugar. (These have all happened).  But it's harder to justify when it's because "I don't have any real reason."

The latest theory in the emails is that the girls feel bad for the lambs because they haven't gone to Europe or started 401ks or had sex yet.  But it's not like they're going to eat mutton either.  Maybe the key here is to just order Chinese.  Oh wait.  Everyone likes their noodles differently.

Written by arnold

April 12, 2006 at 9:35 am

Posted in Culture, Food

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I understand when people have severe allergies, but then don’t go out to eat! If it just makes you gassy, take Beano first and be a gracious guest. I have gagged down all kinds of stuff I would never voluntarily eat again, just because a friend went to the trouble to make it for me.

    Very rarely are friends going to serve you something that will kill you. πŸ™‚ In this way, I have even occasionally found foods that I thought I would dislike, but ended up liking (pineapple on pizza, for one).

    I don’t eat lamb ’cause it tastes icky. Don’t eat mutton, venison, veal, buffalo, ostrich, rabbit, duck, or any other road-kill-ish meat either. Don’t eat much meat to begin with, but that’s a lifestyle choice.

    Peggy C

    April 12, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    • hi can u be allergic to salt because evre time i eat stuffe with high gs of salt in i come out i rashes and my botom lip puffs up

      katie

      March 17, 2009 at 10:16 am

      • Hi Katie,
        So glad to here we are not alone !! this happens to me too and drives me mad.
        Mini Cheddars and tortilla chips are the worst.. my whole face goes blochy after just a min of eating, within 2 mins, I have a temp.my mouth swells up really badly, eyelids too, and then trigers off asthma. I then get really sleepy and have to make sure I get some antihistamines in me before I fall asleep. Even after taking these, my skin stayes flared until the next day itching and eyes and mouth remain sore.

        claire

        June 5, 2009 at 6:08 am

      • Oh sorry, forgot to say, I think it’s more an intolerance to salt, or else we are experiencing an allergic reaction to something else in the salt i.e sodium or something. I hope to get to the bottom of it as making life very tricky.

        claire

        June 5, 2009 at 6:16 am

  2. Actually, Arnold, you shouldn’t have volunteered to make a second dish. Your response should have been, “Oh, I’m sorry to hear that. Lamb will be the main course, but you’ll enjoy the side dishes.” Then they can have a burger BEFORE they come and just eat side dishes while they’re with you. πŸ™‚

    Peggy C

    April 12, 2006 at 1:05 pm

  3. When exactly were those “used to be” days where everyone knew the rules about dinner parties? Was that like in the 50s? I always get a kick out of conversations about “the good old days.” As though they ever really were.

    But I do agree that high maintenance can get frustrating. I’m a pretty low key person and usually it’s just a pretty foreign thing to me when people pick through food or “don’t eat” a particular thing.

    I think just about every generation in the history of humanity would be absolutely confused (if not appalled!) at how we “don’t eat” foods out of preference, or pick things out or even throw food away. Guess we’re lucky that we get to do it. But we probably forget how utterly absurd it is.

    Oh, I don’t like peas.

    The Kyle

    April 13, 2006 at 1:24 pm

  4. Peggy, I’m saving that response for the future πŸ˜‰

    And Kyle… oh Kyle. It’s so simple. The timeline goes:

    Ye Olden Days
    Days of Yore
    The Good Old Days
    Back in the Day

    arnold

    April 13, 2006 at 3:40 pm

  5. I think you only have this current problem because these friends are such CLOSE friends of yours that they feel comfortable enough with you to act this way.
    That being said, for everyone else reading this, I was not one of those picky, rude people.
    I’ll eat the hell out of some lamb.

    Brandon

    April 13, 2006 at 4:22 pm

  6. do you even know how to cook lamb? i bet you don’t. you can’t. you couldn’t. please don’t try.

    dustin

    April 13, 2006 at 5:36 pm

  7. You know, Dustin. If I knew someone who liked lamb (or any other grilled meat), I’d have made it a hundred times by now.

    arnold

    April 13, 2006 at 9:12 pm

  8. Hmm…thinking back, I do remember those vegetables that you made just the way I like them.

    dustin

    April 14, 2006 at 5:21 pm


Leave a Reply

