arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

sushi bat

with 7 comments

I put the chopsticks in my scanner.  It makes me wanna scan more 3D thingsSo Kyle and I are at Wokano's last night.  He looks at the chopsticks and says "Do you think this is a typo?"  I look and the chopsticks say Sushi Bat/Asian Cafe.  I immediately envision California rolls with thick black leathery wings.  "It has to be.  There's no such thing as a sushi bat."  You'd think the printer would have called Wokano and said "Uh. Yeah. Excuse me.  Is this really supposed to say sushi bat?"  So much for excellence in the printing/asian cafe world.  Then again, Wokano isn't really known for its spelling.  It's known for having good asian food, being open late and having only hostesses that are 20 and top heavy.

Speaking of typos, I got this email from my church (sent to the people who figure out the weekend service) explaining why we don't do "theater in the round" style seating very often:

Logistically there are several issues that prohibit us from seating in the round on a regular basis.  Firstly, it takes an absorbent amount of time to set the chairs in this fashion, not to mention that fire-code requires us to gang all the chairs together (zip-ties are acceptable). 

I, of course, respond with "Perhaps a good set of mops would help with our absorbency issue."  Although now I'm really concerned about zip tying things whereas I wasn't before.

And yes, of course, I knew he meant "exhorbitant."  It's just more fun to take things literally.  There's no end of fun you have with this in IM conversations.  Especially when you're talking about several things at once.

Friend:  I'm sitting here in my boxers and looking at this wrapped present my wife has.  I'm pondering its contents.
Me:  Your boxers?
Friend:  No, the present.
Me:  Ah.

So what have we learned?  Proofread your stuff before you send it to the printer.  Turn spell & grammar check on in your email program.  Have fun in IM.  If these aren't words to live by then I really should give this all up and go back to plantain farming in the garage.

Written by arnold

June 7, 2006 at 8:29 am

Posted in Humor

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just out of curiosity, Arnold, in your comical post above, when you wrote “Wokano isn’t known for its spelling,” did you mean to write “‘Wokcano’ isn’t known for it’s spelling?” Couldn’t help but notice that it was misspelled throughout the post.

    That one was too much to resist. šŸ™‚

    By the way, LOVED the sushi bat. Like Jackson’s Lord of the Rings, it perfectly captured the image I had in my mind. Wondrous, yet terrifying.

    [c://spellcheck.exe]

    The Kyle

    June 7, 2006 at 10:20 am

  2. We here at arnoldcam welcome correction and strive for accuracy.

    We would, however, like to take this opportunity to point out that “it’s” is a contraction of “it is” while “its” is the possesive (genetive) case of “it“.

    And we’re glad you ilked the sushi bat. It felt very Calvin-esque.

    arnold

    June 7, 2006 at 11:25 am

  3. eye lyke you’re blog, arnold. its funnee to me.

    www [dot] curtis [dot] com

    June 7, 2006 at 12:05 pm

  4. “It’s” is indeed a contraction of “it is.” True enough. But it is technically incorrect to say that “its” is the “genetive” case for two reasons:

    1. It’s actually spelled “genitive” (not “genetive”) and,
    2. English does not in fact have a genitive case, but rather a possessive ending (-‘s).

    Always striving for accuracy,
    The Kyle

    The Kyle

    June 7, 2006 at 2:35 pm

  5. I like that you make fun of typos and people who don’t proofread. Freakin’, how easy is it to not look like a dunce when you are typing? Apparently not that easy.

    I like the picture of the sushi bat. I think you could market them. Perhaps even put sushi bats on t-shirts or something. I’d buy one.

    Ben

    June 7, 2006 at 3:46 pm

  6. The sushi bat was my favorite. Today, while jogging, something crapped on me. Maybe it was the sushi bat?

    .oO[hill-ree]Oo.

    June 7, 2006 at 4:10 pm

  7. Your friend just didn’t want to confess that he was pondering the contents of his boxers while he was IMing you. The conversation could have taken an ugly turn if he had.

    And I love mistakes like ‘absorbent.’ My sister and I will call each other and laugh when we find stuff like that. It brings a little ray of sunshine to the June Gloom.

    Peggy C

    June 7, 2006 at 9:58 pm


Leave a Reply

