arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

LOL

with 5 comments

I went out for drinks with Eric, Nathalie and Rachelle last night.  In the midst of some story I mentioned LOL and Eric & Nathalie turned and looked at each other and Eric said “Lots of love!”

As it runs out, Nathalie thought LOL meant “Lots of Love” and had been signing cards that way for years.  It wasn’t until she was at a party and the guest of honor read the card and said “LOL?” (to which Nathalie replied “Lots of love!”).  I imagined a whole cartoon party of Peanuts girl characters yelling simultaneously “It stands for Laugh out Loud!”

Can you imagine the years of cards that went by?

You have such a cute baby.  LOL.

I am sorry for the death of your father.  LOL.

Congratulations on your wedding.  I am sure your marriage will last forever.  LOL.

After hearing this story, I was LOL.  As an internet abbreviation, it tops LMAO, NOYFB, IMHO and NSFW.

Written by arnold

September 4, 2006 at 9:43 am

Posted in Humor

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s amazing.

    hillary

    September 4, 2006 at 11:03 am

  2. Yeah. That’s Nathalie though. Probably her most endearing quality.

    BTW. I want to add more water dragons to your picture.

    arnold

    September 4, 2006 at 11:07 am

  3. LOL. I had to RIA to those who are IMARN. They were LOLing as well. Such a FS. Thanks for SWTICOM.

    curtis

    September 4, 2006 at 11:41 am

  4. Wow. I think you’ve got me on all of those Curtis!

    arnold

    September 4, 2006 at 11:24 pm

  5. That story is the funniest misunderstanding of an internet acronym I’ve ever heard of! ROFLMAO! My favorite is still WTF though. 🙂

    ben

    September 4, 2006 at 2:21 pm


Leave a Reply

