arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

The One Where I Review 10 Movies I have Not Seen

with 5 comments

The top ten films over four-day Labor Day weekend, according to final figures compiled by Exhibitor Relations (figures in parentheses represent the Friday-Sunday totals):

1. Invincible, ($12.2 million) $15.4 million; – been hearing great things about this movie.  Two of my friends (male and female) saw it and cried through several parts.  I’m not a big movie cryer, so we’ll see if this does anything for me.  Granted, Brian and Rachelle cry at the drop of a hat at the movies so I’m not anticipating a big emotional response, but I do love a good football movie.

2. Crank, ($10.5 million) $12.9 million; – What is this about?

3. The Wicker Man, ($9.6 million) $11.7 million; – Nicholas Cage.  I see that name in the credits and I’m immediately sleeping.  I think I heard a radio ad for The Weather Man while I was driving and I fell asleep behind the wheel.  Luckily the dots woke me.

4. Little Miss Sunshine, ($7.6 million) $9.6 million; – Got more good friends buzz here.  3 different and wildly different people (Christian worship leader, female accountant, groovy lesbian coffee chick) gave it a positive review.  I’m not big on ensemble cast road trip movies (reminds me too much of growing up) but I might have to break down and see this one.

5. The Illusionist, ($6.3 million) $8.1 million; – The Fight Club guy and magic.  This movie has to effing rock.

6. Talladega Nights. ($6.1 million) $7.6 million; – Pass. Seriously.  If I wanted to see some guy run around in his underwear while telling jokes, all I’d have to do is look in my bathroom mirror.

7. Barnyard, ($4.9 million) $6.6 million; – What is this?  Is this Chicken Run with a different name?

8. World Trade Center, ($4.6 million) $5.9 million; – Uplifting. Heroic. A tale of our times.  Somehow all that seems boring to me.  I suppose when you’re uplifting and heroic in real life, seeing it on film is just old.

9. Accepted, ($4.6 million) $5.62 million; – Sorry “I’m a Mac” guy.  This just doesn’t hold my attention.  You were good in Dodgeball though.

10. Step Up, ($4.5 million) $5.61 million. – I refuse to admit on the Internet that I want to see this movie.  Cause that would be weird. And dumb.  I mean who would want to see a dance movie where, impossibly, wrong side of the tracks guy and rich snobby hot girl come together through music. Ok, I do! Me! Yes, me!  Ahem.  Sorry.

Written by arnold

September 7, 2006 at 9:58 am

Posted in Movie Reviews

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is why I subscribe to your blog. Your review for The Illusionist might be my favorite one up there. Althought The Wicker Man review is pretty funny too.

    Go see Little Miss Sunshine. I saw it with Brandon and he fell out of his seat he was laughing so hard. I’m not kidding.

    And HELLO, we’re so going to see Step Up. I already talked to you about this. Dancing movies are an easy sell to me.

    hillary

    September 7, 2006 at 10:19 am

  2. Just a couple of comments about your “non-“reviews (and I say “non” only because it’s really hard to legitimately review movies that you haven’t seen – not that that ever does, or should, stop you, however. I’m just sayin’…). First of all, “Invincible” is really good. I saw it while I was stranded in Bethesda last weekend, and I cried even though I was with my in-laws, which is definitely saying something. Good storyline, although I was a bit dismayed that Disney was cool with the relationship between Vincent and Julie to progress as it did. Nonetheless, good flick that I highly recommend.

    Secondly, a rebuttal to your comment on “Talledega Nights.” I’m not usually a huge fan of Will Farrell, but this movie really did make me laugh out loud. And it’s so much more than Will Farrell running around in his underwear. He’s got a hot wife, too…

    Lastly, my wife and I have already seen “Step Up.” In fact, we own it. It’s called “Save the Last Dance.” I don’t need to pay an additional $20 to see it again.

    Cubby

    September 7, 2006 at 1:58 pm

  3. I’m looking forward to Crank and Little Miss Sunshine. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Nick Cage is a snore.

    ben

    September 7, 2006 at 3:32 pm

  4. Eric and I want to see the Illusionist…let us know when you go.

    I went and saw Little Miss Sunshine while Eric was gone and I thought it was great, but I also saw this movie when there wasn’t a buzz. Sometimes movie’s gets so hyped up by the time you see it…it’s just ok. I do have to say that the old man in the movie is hysterical!

    Talledega Nights: was ok.

    nath ;-D

    eric

    September 7, 2006 at 7:32 pm

  5. Can you say “Debbie Downer”….waugh, waugh waugh….

    And what’s wrong with falling for the guy from the wrong side of the tracks?? (oh, am I not a hot, snobby, rich girl? Whaaat? you weren’t referring to me?

    Joy-2

    September 9, 2006 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

