arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

it’s the little things

with 3 comments

Ever have some random thing happen to you and you catch yourself wondering “how do these things happen to me?”  This was me a few days ago as I found myself watching TV last Monday and stopping the bleeding from my leg with a wet napkin.

OK, let’s back up.  First of all, I’m whittling my weight down through exercise and lessened caloric intake.  Part of how I do this is eating lean meats and vegetables for dinner.  That night I made a roast chicken.  It makes for a hot dinner, which I require.  It’s tasty, satisfying and pretty low in calories.  I get a medium sized bird and cut it up into quarters.  This gets you two white meat dinners and two dark meat dinners.  Almost a week’s dinners for a single guy.  All really good except the juices leave your hands oily and slick.

In an unrelated story, I got a second set of plates from Ikea.  I’ve been using these cool square plates that look good for entertaining, also, they’re synthetic which makes them sturdy and light but they’re not microwave safe.  I picked up a second set of restaurant quality plates that will work in the microwave.  They’re white, round and have a nice weight to them.  The weight comes from the porcelain like material they’re made of.  Sturdy but they splinter like porcelain does when you drop them.

And if you’ve never been over, I have an all metal coffee table.  It’s a really cool piece.  It was custom made for the New York office of the record company.  They were going for a metallic/future/industrial vibe and the coffee table sat out in the reception area.  The table was made for about three thousand dollars and I got it for seventy five.  The table has been perfect for a bachelor pad… you can spill on it, nothing can hurt it and you can even walk on it to cross over to the other side of the living room.  The thing with an iron table though… is it has very, very hard edges.

As I sat down to watch TV, with my roasted chicken and broccoli dinner, on a nice round white plate, I reached out to set the plate on the coffee table so I could sit on the floor and eat.  Though I’d wiped my hands, there were enough juices on my hands to slip the plate out of my hand as I reached down.  The white plate hit the table and split into two main pieces along the edge of the table.  And one piece slid along my leg and gave me a deep cut I didn’t notice until after I had cleaned up and sat down with a new plate.

So, was my cut a random event?  I don’t think so.  If I hadn’t had chicken that night my hands wouldn’t have been so slick.  If I had used one of the other plates, it’d have just bounced off harmlessly, only scattering food.  If I had my old wood table, it may have been soft enough to let the plate bounce.

I think more times than we know, the seemingly random events of life end up being the results of seemingly unconnected decisions and choices we make.

Next time I have chicken, I’m also getting bandages.

Written by arnold

November 28, 2006 at 12:14 am

Posted in Personal

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Albert Markovski: The interconnection thing is definitely for real.
    Tommy Corn: It is! I didn’t think it wasn’t! It is!
    Albert Markovski: I know, I can’t believe it, it’s so fantastic!
    Tommy Corn: It’s amazing!
    Albert Markovski: I know.
    Tommy Corn: But it’s also nothing special.

    curtis

    November 28, 2006 at 4:26 pm

  2. Wait, you have a custom made iron coffee table and you just bought a set of plates at Ikea? Maybe your table was trying to tell you something. 🙂

    Skid

    November 29, 2006 at 4:14 pm

  3. Hey don’t knock the Ikea plates. They have a real good kitchen section. It’s the rest of the store that’s wobbly and doesn’t fit right.

    arnold

    November 29, 2006 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

