arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

O Tannenbaum

with 2 comments

the Christmas tree, courtesy the cell phoneIt’s just me here but I don’t care.  I got a tree. 

I’ve always liked having a Christmas tree in the house.  Growing up, we had a six foot artificial tree.  My dad set it up every year on the first few days of December.  It was six feet tall (I know cause it said so on the box) and came in two pieces.  You screwed the trunk together and attached the stand.  Then you stuck the branches in one by one.  It was nice at first but, since it was flocked, it slowly began to loose its flocking over the years and began to look more like a huge pipe cleaner covered with silver tinsel garland.  We have pictures somewhere.

At some point, Mom decided we needed a live tree so away went Flocky the fake tree and we started the new tradition of waking up on a crisp, cold morning and hiking our way deep through trees until we got to the middle of the Christmas tree and lot and found the check out stand.  We’d look at the prices and figure out how much tree we could get.  The tree was always a Noble Fir because we liked the wide open spaces to hang decorations all through the tree.

This caused problems when I finally moved out of the house and got a place with my best friend Geo.  His family had a long Christmas tradition as well which cause roommate problems.  I hated getting a tree that “looked like a bush” (Douglas fir) and he hated getting a tree “with shelves” (Noble fir).  We finally decided to alternate every other year.  Our first year was the most glorious though.  Both of us were out of the house for the first time and we got a huge tree for our own place.  The tree was nine feet tall, which was a problem since our roof was eight feet high.  Since the trunk of the monster tree was so huge, we had to cut the extra foot off the top.  There were jokes about putting the extra foot directly above the tree on the second floor.  (Tim, the third roommate, nixed the idea since it would be in his bedroom).

So anyway, all that to say, there’s this year’s tree, along with some branches on the mantel for good measure.  And this year ‘m feeling Christmas-y enough to get a wreath for the door.

And I’ll leave you all with this….  I’ve just realized that you can sing the theme to Gilligan’s Island to God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman.

God  rest ye    merry      gentlemen,           let nothing you dismay
Just  sit   right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip

Remember    Christ our Saviour         was born on   Christmas day
That started  from  this  tropic port,  aboard     this tiny ship

To   save  us         all from Satan’s pow’r,    when we were   gone astray
The mate was a   mighty   sailin’ man,  the skipper   brave and   sure

O tidings of comfort and joy

Written by arnold

December 13, 2006 at 1:19 am

Posted in Life in (near) LA

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The fake trees are much nicer looking now than they used to be. But I grew up with a real tree, and it’s always disappointing to me to deal with the fake one. I asked my sister if we could at least get a real wreath, so the scent of pine will be present.

    If not, I might go get myself one of those baby potted ‘trees’ for my room.

    Peggy C

    December 13, 2006 at 8:28 am

  2. Oh.
    My.
    Word.

    Arnold, change the music.

    The Kyle

    December 15, 2006 at 8:32 pm


Leave a Reply

