arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Ear of the Beholder

with 2 comments

It never ceases to amaze me how people don’t listen to one another.  Listening is somewhat of an art.  And  it’s realy enhanced by the use of “Huh?”  You know… when you didn’t quite get what the person was saying or you want them to elaborate more.  Unfortunately, people hear what they want to hear, regardless of the intent of the speaker.  Case in point….

Suzanne Somers recently lost her whole house in the recent Malibu fire.  She says about the experience:

“My nature is to look at the glass half full. I don’t have a son or daughter in Iraq. I haven’t lost a loved one. We will rebuild, and I truly believe we will learn something great from this experience.”

Nice sentiment, right?  She says in the grand scheme of things, losing a house is not as traumatic as having a child in Iraq or losing someone close.  Instead, many people are reading her quote as anti-troops.  One person says “Sorry about your house. Here’s a list of HEROES that died last month”.  Another says “Wow ….stingy, self centered remarks…used to like her…still hot..but..She should of thought of the families that have HEROS in Iraq…like my Son…..”  Completely missed her point and overused the ellipsis.  And the list goes on.  There are a few sane voices that call people to actually look what she actually said, but they’re lost among the din.

I just had a conversation recently with my friend Jonathan.  Same sort of thing.  I said “You and I use two different logic systems” when we were clarifying how we got off track in a conversation.  He comes back with “these are the most ridiculous discussions ever…but being told i’m constantly being illogical when im not”.  See?  When did I say he was illogical?  I, in fact, said he had a logic system, just that it worked differently than mine. 

Makes me understand how this whole Rosie (the Queen of Nice????) vs Trump thing probably started.

Written by arnold

January 10, 2007 at 10:38 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Only in Hollywood does anyone care what some dumb blonde thinks about the Iraq war. Why does our country care about what bad 1980s comic actresses think anyway?
    I always knew that all you did was shoot tequillia and snipe people all night in a computer video game. No sleep required.

    The Donald

    January 10, 2007 at 10:46 am

  2. No one cares.

    But when someone’s house burns down, we care. I think it’s the primordial curiosity to see how others deal with adversity. It’s a way we can experience loss without having to experience any real loss to ourselves and everyone is curious as to how they’d react personally. I’d hope to have the perspective she’s showing.

    arnold

    January 10, 2007 at 11:42 am


Leave a Reply

