arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

TV TV

with 10 comments

Oh gosh.  The second part of the TV season is back.  I’m not a big TV watcher.  The last two years I’d say I watched about 4 hours a week… and that’s being generous.  But this season, there is so much good TV on it’s hard not to watch.

Here are the top 5 TV shows as recommended by all of us at arnoldcam headquarters…

Battlestar Galactica.  More about the political, social, relational issues than it is about sci fi.  Example… the beleaguered remnant of the remaining* human race find a way to wipe out the murderous and pursuing Cylon race completely.  The show was about those who said wipe em out and let’s be done with them vs. those who said “if we wipe em out, we’re as bad as them.”  Sound familiar?  We may as well be talking about the terrorism scenario today.

Prison Break, season II.  The prisoners are out and the guards are in prison.  The conspiracy theory here is taut, fast moving and fun.  Plenty of interesting and well written characters.

Heroes.  A breath of fresh air in this reality TV driven tv-scape.  Ordinary people begin finding themselves with powers…. and a mission to stop the destruction of a city.  Come on.  You know you imagine having a power!

Friday Night Lights.  Loved the movie and the TV show is just as well written.  New characters and more development.  And let’s face it, we all love our football.

Studio 60.  I’m probably alone here but I love the well written, witty dialogue.  A couple of the characters are so relatable to me in terms of their position, their beliefs and their personality that it’s hard for me not to get drawn in.

What am I not interested in that everyone else is?

24.  When he finally goes to the bathroom, I way start to think it might be realistic.  And for you NewSongers, it’s distracting to see that Chloe girl who looks exactly like Sherry Shaw.

Grey’s Anatomy.  McBoring.

Desperate Housewives.  You’d have to lock me in a basement to get me to watch this.  It’s a night time soap, basically.

The Office.  Somehow, I think the best parts of this show are on YouTube.  And I just saved myself 26 minutes.

 I’m sure you have your own opinions….

*spell check made this say “reaming” originally.  Just so Kyle’s comment makes sense below.

Written by arnold

January 23, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Entertainment

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BSG is on my Netflix list. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

    Studio 60 is pretty good. Can’t ever stay up late enough to watch it though. 😦

    My favorites:

    My Name is Earl This show is hilarious, and it usually has a great message. And it helps me cope with my own white-trashiness.

    The Office The only thing I don’t like are the commercials.

    Scrubs Unlike the Simpsons, Scrubs is still funny.

    30 Rock For some reason this is the only time I can tolerate Alec Baldwin

    skid

    January 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm

  2. I agree with you about Scrubs. I don’t get to see it much but every episode I’ve seen is hilarious. The friendship between the two main guys is awesome.

    arnold

    January 23, 2007 at 11:56 pm

  3. Just a quick note on your thoughts…from someone who watches none of those shows as well as no other shows on TV. Unless you count football (stupid Bears).

    Battlestar Gallactica — Despite your insistence, this IS pure sci-fi. Arnold, it’s called “BATTLESTAR GALLACTICA!” And I would just like you to re-read your “Example…” sentence and tell me that’s not pure, unadulterated, unmitigated sci-fi.

    Prison Break — I just like that you described conspiracy theory as “taut.” I think that officially qualifies you to write reviews professionally.

    Heroes — Another show I’m not interested in. And I don’t secretly want powers…unless you count de-salinization. I do want that.

    Friday Night Lights — I do like football. But not so much TV shows about football. All I’ve heard about this show is that some hunk of a guy is in it.

    Studio 60 — Studio siiiixty???

    24 — Strangely, if I did have time to watch a show it would probably be this one. And I’m entertained that you’re annoyed that Jack Bauer not peeing is unrealistic and yet “the beleaguered remnant of the reaming [sic] human race find a way to wipe out the murderous and pursuing Cylon race completely” is good quality entertainment.

    Desperate Housewives, Grey’s Anatomy, The Office — I’ll plead ignorance on these…probably what I should have done on all the others above as well. 🙂

    the kyle

    January 24, 2007 at 9:28 am

  4. I have to say that the hard drive on our DVR is filling up fast…and it’s not just because the US Figure Skating Nationals are on this week. (Go Sasha! Go Evan!) My top picks:

    24 – Agree on the bathroom thing. But Dr. Romano as Jack’s sinister evil-doing brother? Who would have guessed?

    Prison Break – I think it was better in its first season. This 2nd half of the 2nd season is a bit…er…predictable. I mean, seriously, who DIDN’T call Stedman’s suicide or Mahone’s turnabout with the other agent in his trunk? Don’t get me wrong, Wentworth Miller certainly provides for 60 minutes of eye candy, but I think they’re gonna have to do more to have me hooked again.

    Studio 60 – So glad that another person likes this show. The banter is clever and engaging. And you gotta love the “crazy Christian”. 🙂 I’m just hoping the rest of the American public will catch on to this show. Nevermind the fact that its success somehow affects my bonus this year…

    FNL – This is great television. Loved it from the moment I read HG Bissinger’s book over a decade ago. All I know is I never knew anyone who looked like Lyla Garrity or Tim Higgins when I was in high school. And maybe that’s a good thing.

    Zoomlovin

    January 24, 2007 at 11:29 am

  5. I love that you can write “a decade ago”.

    arnold

    January 24, 2007 at 12:23 pm

  6. Oh Kyle.

    I just meant that the focus of the show is not on flux capacitors, transwarp drive, or gravometric anomalies but instead on ethics, morality, societal issues and relationships.

    arnold

    January 24, 2007 at 4:07 pm

  7. …and a race of Cylones. Don’t forget them.

    the kyle

    January 24, 2007 at 5:10 pm

  8. Cylones? Makes them sound like Hispanic robots.

    arnold

    January 25, 2007 at 3:48 am

  9. Anybody ever see “Ugly Betty”? I haven’t, since I’m not in the country, but it seemed to garner some favor amongst the GG voters. It might be another one of those like “Arrested Development” – critical acclaim, but no viewer base at all.

    And seriously, PLEASE stop making references to Jack having to pee, and not seeing it is why “24” is not realistic. One critic points that out and suddenly everyone is on the “We never see Jack pee” bandwagon. He goes to the bathroom the same time we all do – DURING THE COMMERCIALS!!!

    Cubby

    January 26, 2007 at 8:40 am

  10. There’s a reason Ugly Betty is so popular with GG voters. There’s a version of Ugly Betty in a lot of Spanich speaking countries, some of which have a guy in a dress playing Betty. I think the Spanish verison is called Betty La Fea.

    And….. “one critic”. Pfft. I thought this on my own.

    arnold

    January 26, 2007 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

