arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Suburban Play II

with 7 comments

I kid you not, this happened yesterday… 

Characters:
late 30s white guy, business man working out at lunch, wearing a sleeveless t-shirt he made himself
black guy in his 20s

Scene: typical gym on a weekday morning.  The black guy is on the bench doing chest press with two plates on each side.

WG: Hey , uh, you need a spot?

BG:  (chuckles slightly) Nah man, I’m good.

WG: OK.  (pause)  Peace.  (awkward pause)  Word.  (goes back to working out)

I’ll be producing this play later in the season (Zac… the director said he’s looking for someone with a younger look.)

Written by arnold

March 1, 2007 at 11:25 am

Posted in Life in (near) LA

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m dying!!!
    Maybe it was an assignment for a Multi-Cultural class.
    White people are so lame.

    Hillary

    March 1, 2007 at 1:04 pm

  2. Well… this one anyway. lol. His hair was nicely pressed, too. I forgot to mention that.

    arnold

    March 1, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  3. That’s the foh-shizzle. I would have said, ” now just hang loose blood, we goin catch up on the rebound on med side.”

    steve

    March 1, 2007 at 4:26 pm

  4. Nice… the rare “Airplane” reference.

    arnold

    March 1, 2007 at 11:25 pm

  5. Reminds me of an incident with my senior pastor the other day… Maybe you could have this be a scene in your play.

    Characters:
    Senior Pastor, 65, white, old fashioned, 3 piece suit
    Latino guy in his 30s

    Scene: 6 people are gathered around a table for Sunday School, the Latino Guy has just introduced himself

    LG: I grew up in New York City and I’ve been doing construction in Virginia Beach for 5 years.

    SP: But you were born in Puerto Rico, right?

    LG: No, I was born in Brooklyn.

    SP: But you lived in Puerto Rico.

    LG: No, I lived in New York until I moved here 5 years ago.

    SP: But your family is from Puerto Rico.

    LG: Um…I’m going to Puerto Rico for vacation next month…

    Skid

    March 2, 2007 at 10:44 am

  6. That’s awesome. The best stuff happens at your church, Ben.

    arnold

    March 2, 2007 at 10:45 am

  7. What are you saying, Arnold? That the uber-talented Zac couldn’t play an African-American guy in his 20s? Just grow his afro out and dye it black and get him some super-tan and you’re good to go. Word.

    Norv Turner

    March 2, 2007 at 8:34 pm


Leave a Reply

