arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

a matter of taste

with 4 comments

I was making a sandwich the other day and the roomie says “Oh.  You put egg in your tuna salad?  Seth does that too.  His mom used to make it that way.”  I wonder how much of our likes and dislikes are simply us being used to the way that Mom made it.

I can see my old roommate Peter’s mom burning the mac & cheese so he could have his crispy corner piece, but I can’t see my old roommate Kyle’s mom putting hot sauce in the tuna salad.  My old roommate George can only eat scrambled eggs if it’s “dryer than a desert.”  I don’t have a scrambled egg preference, and actually prefer over easy eggs cause that’s how my mom used to make me eggs.  On a side note, I love devilled eggs (I’d even make em for me and my brothers and sister when we were kids).  I just thought of that.

That being said, I like

my tuna salad with egg in it
my mashed potatoes with not so much cream but with lumps.
my tortas (filipino thing made of eggs, onions and cubed potatoes) with no eggplant in it (eggplants are sick)
my mac & cheese a little burned on the corners
my hot dogs with ketchup AND mustard
my ice cream with no candy or cookies in it (not that my mom made ice cream)
my pancakes with maple syrup only, never fruit or powdered sugar or flavored syrups

One place I differ from my family greatly is they like steaks well done.  Just fire the taste all the way out of the steak.  When I go over there now and my dad is grilling, I pull one off for me right away or I just skip it.

Now that I think of it, my family based preferences are from my mom’s cooking.  My dad hardly ever cooked but when he did he made one of three dishes.  Chicken and pasta shells soup; pork roast;and shrimp, peas and pearl onion omelet. Every now and then he’d make his version of Lobster Cantonese… lobster, ground pork, scallions and a bit of eggs in a lobster broth.  My love of cooking seems fairly obvious now that I think about it.  Funny thing is about dads…. they can only cook recipes that serve 20.

OK… that’s it for me.  Reply away about your own food preferences or childhood food memories.

(man this is a fairly rambling post).

Written by arnold

April 5, 2007 at 11:34 am

Posted in Food

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like your mom never ate eggplant when she was pregnant.

    Food preferences developed in the womb

    p.s. So, no butter on your pancakes?

    e.

    April 5, 2007 at 1:16 pm

  2. Nope. Pancakes, waffles and toast go unbuttered. Hey! My mom eats em that way.

    Then again… I read that 20% of Europeans, 70% of blacks and 100% of Asian are lactose intolerant. That’s probably her deal.

    I, on the other hand, got enough German Luhrsen genes in me to be lactose tolerant.

    arnold

    April 5, 2007 at 1:35 pm

  3. hey….i like my steaks medium rare…(nako, mister!) BTW, you forgot to mention how good you are at cooking potted meat!! (friends of Arnold…there’s a story behind this one…you must inquire!)

    joyzelle

    April 5, 2007 at 7:46 pm

  4. It’s sort of like Chili–for the most part, I never like anyone else’s chili. What I grew up with at home is the “ONLY” way chili should be made. 🙂

    My mom had some special-creation recipes that she made that I’ve never heard of anyone else making. They were mostly desperation meals–what do we have in the cupboard? But we grew up with them, and so we have a speciall affinity for them.

    So now, for your gastronomic pleasure, I give you Peggy’s Mom’s Taco Pie:

    1 to 1.5 pounds hamburger, browned and drained
    1 bottle Heinz Chili Sauce (red stuff found in condiment aisle)
    1 bag Fritos
    Shredded Cheddar Cheese (your preference on amount–minimum 1.5 cups)
    Sour cream (optional)

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

    Brown hamburger and drain. Return to pan, add Heinz Chili Sauce, heat through. Empty Fritos into a large casserole dish, pressing against sides to make a dip in the center.

    Scoop saucy meat into center dip in Fritos. Spread cheese over top of meat and fritos. Place in preheated oven, cook 20-30 minutes, until cheese is melted.

    Serve hot, sour cream topping optional.

    Peggy C

    April 6, 2007 at 5:14 pm


Leave a Reply

