arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Hello from PDX

with 2 comments

Hey all.  The end of March and the beginning of April were just packed with tons and tons of work so I decided to take a few days to get away from numbers and ledgers.  At the moment I’m in Portland for a few more hours.

As usual, in my packing, I’ve forgotten several important things including my camera.  Luckily my cell phone has a camera and I’ve been able to get a few (lo res) snapshots of my trip so far.

pdx
This is the jet I took up from Burbank.  This is probably the smallest plane I’ve ever flown in.  I think maybe 60 of us filled the jet.

horizon jet

The view from curbside waiting for Jonathan to come get me.  Jonathan is my good friend who lives in Oregon.  The running joke this weekend was that he was “host” and that we’d following his “itinerary” for the weekend.  Most of the weekend was pretty much decided on the fly and ended up being a cool weekend.

columbia gorge trees

Jonathan came up with the idea of climbing Dog Mountain, about 40 miles east of Portland up the Columbia River Gorge.  We hit the trail around 4:30 pm and climbed 2700 feet up along a 3.5 mile trail through the woods.  You can’t see Jonathan because he’s being eclipsed by 6’4″ Taylor, a friend of his from work.  Taylor works at an accounting firm, Jonathan works in finance and I’m basically a transponster (according to friends) and it was soooo fun to be able to talk shop with people who knew what I was talking about.

mountain top

Once we broke the treeline, the wind picked up and it got chilly fast.  The cool thing was seeing the Columbia river from 3000 feet up.  I’m a city boy so seeing a river at least a football field wide was pretty amazing.  Seeing it from this high up was even cooler.

OK, that’s it for now.  Heading back out to PDX and on to the next city 🙂

 PS… My prayers and deepest condolences to the families of students out at Virginia Tech.  The kind of person who would do this to students…. well… I have no words for them.

Written by arnold

April 16, 2007 at 10:49 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I want a vacation.

    Curtis

    April 16, 2007 at 1:15 pm

  2. Curtis, I hear Seattle is nice this time of year………..

    the kyle

    April 17, 2007 at 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

