arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

boo earthlink

with 3 comments

Free at last, free at least.  Thank God a’mighty I’m free at last.

 No more Earthlink DSL.

I noticed a while back that my “good customer discount” suddenly was gone from my invoice and I was back up to $49.95 a month for DSL service.  Fifty bucks.  For that much money, I expect a fruit platter delivered by Egyptian women in Nile princess outfits every morning with that internet service. 

And it’s not even very good service… it’s $50 a month for 750k speed and and it slows down to way slower than that alot.  Believe my Halo-dying-because-I’m-lagging alter ego.  AT&T offers a 3Meg for $24.99 service that I’d be an idiot not to take. 

 So I call Earthlink to cancel.  “Awwwww. You’re cancelling?”  The girl sounded like I wasn’t coming to her Cinco de Mayo party.  But here’s the kicker… “How about if we lower your monthly service fee to $39?”  “No.”  “Oh!  It looks like I just got an email saying we can lower long time customer rates to $29.”  Well screw you, Earthlink.  If I could have gotten that rate, why was it never offered before now?  I’m so glad I’m done with this company.  Ah… but I’m not.

In order to have no downtime, I need to keep Earthlink on so ATT can take over the account.  Whoops.  So I call Earthlink back and say cancel my cancellation order.  And I kid you not, I think it’s the same girl and she says “Awwww.  You’re cancelling?”  “No.  I just told you I’m trying to stop the cancellation order.”  “Oh.”  So she asks me my name and phone number and account info.  And then she keeps me on the  line for 20 minutes while she clicks a bunch boxes on some internal website.  And finally I say “Do I need to be on the line for this?” “I’m almost done.”  And five minutes later, she’s done.  “OK, All set.  IS theere any thing else I can do to offer you excellent service?”  “No.”  Next day, the DSL service is off.  So much for excellent service.

So I call back and I get some Asian guy with broken English who helps me.  He has the DSL service back on in 3 minutes and a couple of days later, I get a 99.99 reactivation fee on my statement.

 I AM SO GLAD I’M DONE WITH THOSE PEOPLE!!!  (he writes from his screaming fast, much cheaper, though Egyptian-Nile-princess-server free DSL service.)

Written by arnold

May 17, 2007 at 12:31 pm

Posted in Life in (near) LA

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re not even a good customer.

    That’s your problem.

    Curtis

    May 17, 2007 at 2:40 pm

  2. Tell ’em you want to cancel again and that it was during your 30 day trial period. Everyone gives you 30 days to try a product. Earthlink sounds evil.

    Skid

    May 19, 2007 at 9:21 am

  3. That is hillarious. There is a sitcom script in there. Totally rediculous

    Seaman Little

    June 5, 2007 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

