arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

2 weeks to go

with 9 comments

Two weeks and my last roommate ever is moving out.  I say last ever cause after this I’m done. 

I’ve had a good run.  The list of roomies looks like a who’s who on arnoldcam:

Orange: me, Geo & Tim
Diamond Bar: me, Geo & Lisa and then me, Lisa & Jay
Chino Hills: me, Jay, Phil & Brad and then -Jay, +Jeff
Diamond Bar: me, Phil, Charlie
South Pasadena: me & Peter then +Eric then +Joel
Pasadena: same 4
Pasadena: me and Joel then -Joel,+2nd Peter then -2nd Peter, +Tim, then -Tim, +Dustin, then -Dustin, +Kyle, +Brandon, then -Kyle, then -Brandon, +Josh.

What’s that? 16?  Three were really great and two were nightmares and the rest were average.  So that’s not too bad.

After this run though, I’ve noticed that my patience for what’s allowable has really lessened.  Mostly cause in the beginning I was one of several people sharing a place equally.  Now, it’s my place and I’m renting a room.  It’s a huge difference to me but I think the distinction is lost on some people.

The last one is  really nice guy, easy to get along with, but a little high maintenance as a roomie.  How?  Glad you asked.  I’ve been dying to tell someone.  Josh is a fitness buff to the point where everything he eats is some low fat, high protein version of whatever.  Apparently eating this kind of stuff requires three plates at every meal and five glasses a day.  Some for water and some for smoothies.  He blends smoothies when I have people over and we’re talking.  He leaves several days’ dishes piled in his room and is fine with spilled boxes of food on the floor of his room.  On neat days, his room is littered with clothes (clean piles and dirty piles) to the point where you can’t see the floor.  I remember living like this as a junior high kid… perhaps I should put up posters of Farah Fawcett and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in there.  He does, however, have a huge eight foot by eight foot poster from Hollister on the wall.  He asked me how I liked it and I said “It’s cool.  It’s like you have an Abercrombie & Fitch meets homeless bag lady thing going on in here.”  He also cooks full, three course meals from 2 am through 3 am, which would be fine if he didn’t wake the dog up (who cries all night cause he needs to go pee) or leave the oven on.

Now I’m home working and in the next room apparently, there’s a girlfriend spending the day in his room while he works.  This is “interesting”.   It would seem I’m running a hotel now.  I wonder if I’m supposed to offer clean towels and a lunch menu, but I’m drawing the line at pushing the little cart around.

In two weeks though, it’s over and the room will get a coat of paint, a new carpet and the pitter patter of roomie feet will cease to echo in arnoldcam manor.

Written by arnold

June 29, 2007 at 12:30 pm

Posted in Life in (near) LA

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ah, man…

    i was wondering if maybe i could rent it out from you for a little while starting in august. but, oh well. i see how it is. you love all those other guys more than me.

    Curtis

    June 29, 2007 at 3:21 pm

  2. I know for a fact that you just moved into a nice new place with a really cool roomie. My guess is your next place will be a cozy little honeymoon apt 🙂

    Besides… I’m not gonna be here much longer.

    arnold

    June 29, 2007 at 3:30 pm

  3. The end of an era.

    Skid

    June 30, 2007 at 5:15 pm

  4. You may be right there. I didn’t even know I was in an era til it ended. That’s the makings of an era I suppose.

    arnold

    June 30, 2007 at 5:18 pm

  5. Hmmm…ranking your roomies, huh? I wonder who took those top three spots. It does sound as if Mr. A&F/homeless guy will be gone by the time I get there in a couple of weeks. ‘Course, don’t expect too much. I probably will just rank somewhere in the “average” range. Two days probably won’t be enough to bump any of those guys out of the top spots. 🙂 See you soon.

    Stateside SA Cubby

    July 1, 2007 at 12:18 am

  6. Yeah, you should have a whole room and bathroom at your disposal. Might even find some mints on your pillow.

    Much as I like you though, those top 3 spots are pretty unassailable.

    arnold

    July 1, 2007 at 7:15 pm

  7. You won’t be there much longer? Where are you heading?

    Peggy C

    July 2, 2007 at 7:31 pm

  8. Undecided as yet but there’s a real strong lean towards Oceanside. Beautiful weather, inexpensive houses with lots of land and only a few miles to the beach!

    arnold

    July 3, 2007 at 1:02 am

  9. Oceanside is lovely—I would love to be near the beach. Perhaps someday…..

    Peggy C

    July 6, 2007 at 3:28 am


Leave a Reply

