arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

etiquette point

with 3 comments

I just got back from a great coffee time with my friend Charlie.  We covered all kinds of topics from my work to his honeymoon trip in Europe and even a lot of really interesting emergent church/outreach kinds of things (which you’ll probably see more of here later).  At the end of our coffee time, we walked to the corner, shook hands and said bye and I walked down the street to my car (parked at the corner where they shot a scene from Transformers!). 

I was driving back home and noticed Charlie was on my right, on the sidewalk, walking back towards his house.  I resisted the urge to honk and wave.  What is tis dumb compulsion we have to wave or honk at people (so we can wave at them), when we’ve already said our goodbyes seconds before?

Guys do it.  When guys do it, it’s the subtle, one hand, no motion, hand raise… kind of like “Look.  I’m showing you my palm.”  It’s more of an acknowledgemet of “Yes, I am, in fact, leaving.”  Women are the ones who I’ll see honk and wave vigorously… or in some cases, lower the window and start talking again.  And then the goodbyes, and then the rear view mirror wave.

Why do we do all this?  Does the second goodbye somehow render the first goodbye invalid?  Once I say goodbye, I’m on to the next thing.  Usually I’m thinking about what other thing I’m late for.  But not today.  Today I resisted.  Today I took a stand for one-goodbyers everywhere.  Today, I stood strong.

Goodbye.  (For now).

Written by arnold

July 13, 2007 at 12:40 pm

Posted in Life in (near) LA

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. (make sure you read this in valley girl tone)

    Okay, SO weird! I totally saw Charlie in a car driving yesterday. I was in my car. He was in his. we passed. Well, wait, i wasn’t in my car because my car got stolen and then returned in a really shabby condition and so I was technically in a car that looked like my car. But I saw him in his car and I thought, “I should wave.” but then I didn’t. So weird.

    Wait, this has nothing to do with your story, except for Charlie.

    Who’s Charlie?

    Hillary

    July 13, 2007 at 9:00 pm

  2. I always read your post like that. 🙂

    So wait… your car got stolen? Say the word and a hundred ninjas will be turned loose to beat the crap out of the low lives that joy rided your car.

    arnold

    July 13, 2007 at 9:00 pm

  3. Could the hundred ninjas steal my car again so i can get a new one?

    Hillary

    July 15, 2007 at 1:18 pm


Leave a Reply

