arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Three in One

with 6 comments

movies3.jpg

I realize all this time has gone by and I haven’t written up the last three movies I’ve seen.  The graphic here represents all three.  Homer Simpson stands in for The Simpsons movie.  His scar and glasses are for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and the general European feel is for the Bourne Ultimatum.  The flying ninjas don’t stand for anyhing but let’s face it, flying ninjas are wicked sweet.

Harry Potter was helmed, once again, by a new director and you can really feel the shift.  The movie starts with a long overhead shot, far from the characters.  This is a foreshadowing of the growing distance Harry encounters from his friends and allies through the film.  Rather than bright sunny days and vivid colors one associates with childhood, we see dusk and muted colors almost bordering on black and white at times.  You Know Who is back and it’s up to Harry and his friends to come together despite their problems to fend him off once again.  Pretty standard fare for these movies plotwise but it’s fun to watch the same old story unfold.  The most vibrant character in tis movie oddly enough is Dolores Umbridge (a play on “umbrage”?) who despite her pink and sacharine sweet smile, is a monster in a pill box hat.  She rules the school with her Lutherian notices posted on the Hogwarts doors.  She gets what’s coming to her, never fear.  Add the Weasly twin combination rebellion and school drop out and you have a winning number of effects and school hijinks.  Annother plus for the HP series.  Nerd points earned… I was waiting in line for about ten minutes on a busy day.  When these two ladies got to the front and were asked for their order, they leaned back, looked at the menu and said “what’s good?  what do you like?”  I had just watched Harry Potter and I muttered “avada kedavra“.  Sure my nerd quotient went up, but the customer behind me said “nice!”

The Simpsons movie was out and out hilarious.  Although the movie starts with Homer saying “Why pay for something you see at home for free” before the credits start, it certainly was worth my student discount ticket (thanks Pacific Theaters for just assuming I’m student age!).  The story is loosely based on a series of dares between Homer and Bart as well as the non evironmentally friendly town of Springfield’s dumping practices.  Watch Lisa’s presentation of “An Irritating Truth” and you’ll get most of the plot.  Some funny moments… Bart’s Lady Godiva-esque skate board ride through town where he passes almost every minion ever seen in Springfield and all manner of birds, french fries, sprinklers and what not conceal Bart’s “doodle” as he rides around.  Then there’s Burns’ only great line in the film…”Ah… for once the rich white man is in control”.  And lastly, Marge’s big tension breaking line at the end of the movie.  It’s not funny for what she says, but just how and when she says it. 

Lastly, the Bourne Obligation.  (Complacency? Argument? Provocation?  Some other big word?)   Fast, frenetic and ever moving… there’s no place to get snacks in the last installment of the Bourne trilogy.  If you paid attention to the first and second films, you’ll find a surprising number of repeated lines and scenes, as well as old scenes interwoven in its  (Kyle… notice that it is “its” not “it’s”) new chronological place… a nightmare for a recovering amnesiac, I’m sure.  The fights and chases that made Matt Damon an action hero in the Bourne Identity are equally fast paced and well choreographed here.  In the rooftop chase scene Bourne sprints across roofs, his spy mind eying the upcoming terrain; he grabs clothing from the drying lines to wrap his hands in order to hurdle a pigeon unfriendly glass shard wall.  It’s this visualization of quick thinking and fast adaptation to surroundings that intrgues and thrills me and makes me wish I had been a covert ops guy (or am I already?  cue: dun-dun-dun music).  Later, Bourne meets an operative of his own calibur and in a protracted fight, they are so evenly matched that it’s only a small and insignificant timing mistake that costs the combatant his life.  If the shaky first person view camera style of the second movie bothered you, get set to be bothered again.  Sure it makes it hard to watch the balletic movements of the fight but it makes it real-er to watch.  When this movie comes out and I add it to my DVD colletion, I’ll be making room for my hopes for a Bourne IV.

Written by arnold

August 5, 2007 at 10:37 am

Posted in Movie Reviews

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice reviews…at least the two that I cared to read. I officially squelched any temptation to read or watch any Harry Potter (or read any reviews) by reading the last page of the last book — I believe it(‘)s called “Order of the Philosopher’s Phoenix?” I can’t believe they all died like that.

    P.S. We all know arnoldcam is famous (FAMOUS!) for its careful use of grammar and avoidance of typos. Therefore, because of the precedence that has been set on this site, I choose not to feel guilty for my superfluous apostrophe usage.

    c:/spellcheck.exe

    The Kyle

    August 6, 2007 at 1:22 pm

  2. You definitely have to be careful. I was initially reading Harry Potter and the Deadly Gallow and I realized that Hermany Rangers and Ron Whistly are not real character names. Turns out I bought a cheap Chnese knock off. That’s the last page you read.

    I suppose that’s what happens when you buy stuff at the WallMark.

    arnold

    August 6, 2007 at 1:51 pm

  3. I don’t know what the Deadly Gallow is or who Hermany Rangers and Ron Whistly are. And I don’t know what the WallMark is. I have missed every joke in your post. Or maybe they’re not jokes.

    (And I’m hoping, after you interrupted your lengthy movie reviews for a very astute apostrophe correction, that you typed “Chnese” on purpose. But I have my doubts.)

    The Kyle

    August 7, 2007 at 11:18 am

  4. This keyboard is becoming seriously suspect. While my typing skills aren’t the greatest, I’ve noticed a number of dropped keys (same letters) over the last couple months. Must be all the diet peach iced tea Snapple I’ve spilled into it.

    As for my last coment, anyone who spends a few hours with their noses out of theological commentaries knows the Chinese are famous for producing fakes of popular (and usually expensive) items. It’s where Rollex watches and Gucchi purses come from (Rolex and Gucci are highly offended by this). And while there’s no place called the WallMark, it certainly sounds close enough to that big discount store with the blue sign. (Really? Still no? Try ‘Walmart’.)

    arnold

    August 7, 2007 at 12:52 pm

  5. I understand the Ch(i)nese joke. And I know about Walmar(t). I was really asking about Deadly Gallow, Hermany Rogers, Ron Whistley etc. But I don’t know that it(‘)s worth all the effort to explain. But if for some reason you do, could you please only use theology-related language? It’s all I understand.

    And I’m sure (SURE!) it(‘)s the keyboard.

    The Kyle

    August 7, 2007 at 6:15 pm

  6. It might actually be the keyboard, as the “i” was dropped from “intrigue” as you talked about the third Bourne installment.
    ‘Course, it was just the second “i” so maybe it wasn’t just the keyboard…
    Regardless, good thoughts on that movie. I’d love to see “The Simpsons Movie,” but that might or might not happen. We’ll see.

    SA Stateside Cubby

    August 9, 2007 at 5:39 am


Leave a Reply

