arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

How many for you?

with 6 comments

Let me first say that this post has been spell checked for Kyle. 

I am a big fan of group questions while we eat or imbibe.  I was at a party last Friday.  The question of the evening was how many jobs have you had total since you were 15.  We refined the question to how many employers have you had because someone wanted to count different positions for the same company.  The highest we got was 19 from a person who had spent about the same number of years working.  I had 11 but as the night went on, I kept raising the number as forgotten jobs bubbled up from the depths of forgetfulness.  So here’s my final count (so far)…

paperboy – OC Register
busboy – Marie Calendar’s
pizza maker – Barro’s Pizza
busboy – Las Lomas
photographer’s assistant I – Josten’s
photographer’s assistant II – Albert & James
billing/waiter – Centercourt
sales/inventory – Pedrini’s
bookkeeper/Finance Dir. – CMA
Manager of Accounting – the record company
Accounting & Royalties Consultant – independent

That’s 11… but I have this weird feeling that I’m missing one.  You should try this.  Feel free to post your history.  If you can remember!

Written by arnold

August 8, 2007 at 9:21 am

Posted in Work

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wait, you’re the one who corrected me (awkwardly, in the middle of a movie review). And I’m not even sure why or where it came from. No need to start spellchecking now. I was just surprised that you took the time to correct an apostrophe (from who-knows-where).

    But it’s your blog. I just wish you talked more about theology. I don’t understand all that other stuff.

    The Kyle

    August 8, 2007 at 9:58 am

  2. I think I was a paperboy before I was fifteen, so that doesn’t count, huh? Alright.

    Basement Lackey – Midtown Sports
    Staff Writer – Westmont College Newspaper
    Communications Director – Westmont College Service Club
    Resident Assistant – Westmont College
    Library Assistant – Westmont College
    Youth Intern – First Baptist Church
    Youth Director – First Presbyterian Church
    Substitute Teacher – Visalia Unified School District
    Case Worker – Group Home
    Pastoral Assistant – Christ Presbyterian Church
    Teacher’s Assistant – Fuller Theological Seminary
    Director of Student Ministries – Good Shepherd Presbyterian Church

    So I guess that makes 12 – or 13 if you count the paperboy gig.

    Interesting post, bud.

    Curtis

    August 8, 2007 at 8:01 pm

  3. I wonder if every boy does a stint as a paperboy.

    arnold

    August 8, 2007 at 10:29 pm

  4. No paper boy job for me, but I did full-time babysitting for three summers before my first “real” job.

    Things Remembered–retail clerk
    Pedrini’s Music–retail clerk
    The Pink Lady–retail clerk
    Target–retail clerk
    Dr. Walls–dental assistant
    Dr. Nemetz–dental assistant
    Word & Brown–COBRA administrator
    Community Christian Church–Children’s Ministry Director
    Tarbell, Realtors–Career Coordinator

    So 9 for me so far, but seeing as I was laid off from the last one, I’m hoping to add #10 to the list soon. Drs. Walls and Nemetz were two different offices, so it was the same job but for different employers at different times.

    I also spent a summer full-time providing day care for my nephew and another woman’s baby in between my dentist office job and my COBRA job, but I wasn’t sure if that one would count, since it was a self-employed kind of thing.

    Peggy C

    August 9, 2007 at 12:06 am

  5. Yeah, it’s required. In California at least.

    My mom would have to wake me up. [big surprise]

    Curtis

    August 13, 2007 at 8:24 am

  6. 1. Babysitter – many families (we’ll count this as 1 job… I think this may be the female version of the paperboy)
    2. Lifeguard/Swim Instructor – 3 different King County Pools
    3. Smoothie/Juice Maker – Reggae Juice
    4. Psychology Dept. Aid, Research Assistant, Secretary & Treasurer of Psi Chi – Whitworth College
    5. Foster Child Monitor/Gopher – Child Protective Services (Dept. of Children & Family Services)
    6. Assistant – Women’s Drop-In Center
    7. Secretary (Marriage & Family Therapy student union), Assistant (Academic Programs for School of Theology), and Flag Football Statistics Keeper (Intramural Sports) – Fuller Theological Seminary
    8. Tutor – I forget the company…located on Huntington & Rosemead
    9. Intern Therapist, then School-based Therapist – Foothill Family Service

    Shunshine Girl

    August 13, 2007 at 11:14 pm


Leave a Reply

