arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Conversations with Mom

with 4 comments

I had to drive into work last night out to Encino.  Which meant a thirty minute drive.  Which meant I made a phone call to pass the time.  Haven’t talked to my Mom in a while so I can A. catch up and B. log some time on the Which Kid Hasn’t Called Me This Month roster and avoid the sarcastic milk carton comments.

I had to shake my head clear after I was done.  The conversation went something like this:

Hello.

Oh well hello.  How have you been?

I’ve been well.  I’m driving out to work.

You’re working?  This late?  I have to work tomorrow too.  6 am.  They told us not to show up for overtime on Saturday because there’s no work but they didn’t say not to show up for overtime on Monday so I’m going in early.

Uh huh.

If they’re not going to tell me, then I’m going to show up.  What are you working on that you need to go in this late?

Well, nothing important.  I just like to go in when no one’s areound so I can work on the server and not have to force people to log off.  Plus I don’t have to engage in idle chit chat.

I hate that too.  I saw 88.

What’s 88?

It’s a movie.  Al Pacino is in it.  I can’t tell if it’s an old movie or it just hasn’t come out yet.

Is Pacino old or young in the movie?

He’s old.

Then it’s probably a newer movie.

Yeah.  I don’t think it’s out yet.  My friend got a spoiler.

A spoiler?

You know, when the DVDV* is not out yet.  You know Norm’s birthday is coming up.

(head beginning to hurt) What?

Norm’s birthday.  It’s coming up.  It’s a big one.

We should have a big party then.

No one had a party for me when I turned 30 or 40 or 50 or 60.

I’m at work.  I gotta go now.

OK, it was nice to hear from you.  Bye!  Love you!

*To my mom’s credit, she knows it’s DVD, but she likes calling them DVDVs.  And for all you people who read this (you know who you are) and think “Oh.  So many things make sense now, well… now you understand what I have to deal with.

Written by arnold

August 13, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Posted in Personal

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a conversation with my mother… hopefully it’s not genetic… or learned for that matter.

    Shunshine Girl

    August 13, 2007 at 11:15 pm

  2. I’m going with genetic.

    That said, Arnold, you have at least mastered the art of the segueway. The transition from one Arnold-thought to a completely different Arnold-thought employs oft-used Arnold-lines like:

    “I don’t know why I just thought of this but… ”

    Or the famous Arnold segueway that’s not really a segueway, just an excuse to tell a story:

    “Seeing that stack of dessert forks reminds me of this time when we were rehearsing with the church band on our trip to Valenzuela*…”

    I like to call them conversational journeys. You never know where you’re going — that is, unless it’s a story you’ve already heard several times. But even then these stories tend to change over time and it’s fun to hear where it will end up this time.

    Now I know where all this comes from. Arnold, do any of your siblings do this?

    *To Arnold’s credit, he knows it’s called Venezuela, but he likes calling it Valenzuela. The familial similarities here are eerie.

    The Kyle

    August 15, 2007 at 10:54 am

  3. oh my goodness…i need some TYNELOL!

    joyzelle

    August 16, 2007 at 6:27 pm

  4. my God! all mothers are the same!

    Skid`

    August 25, 2007 at 3:40 pm


Leave a Reply

