arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

traveling mercies

with 3 comments

cabin.jpgCheck it out.  This area may NOT be used for storage of “cabin supplies”.  What are “cabin supplies”?  Maybe it’s stuff for use by the “crew” on the “airplane”.

I’ll tell you what this is… it’s yet one more example of the surreal-ness of air travel.  I like going to new places.  I just don’t like the ordeal of traveling by air…. Like how if you’re running late because you forgot your golf shoes and have to run back in the house, the plane just up and leaves with out you.  How rude.

Leaving Burbank, I forgot about the liquid rules when going through security.  I bought a five dollar coffee (a FIVE DOLLAR COFFEE!!!) and was told it wouldn’t go through security.  I took a few sips and threw it out.  It’s not like I didn’t know the rule.  I just keep forgetting that my decaf non fat (whoops… typo corrected. Thanks Dustin!) easy mocha no whip latte is a threat to air travel.

Well anyway.  The trip out to Vermont was really fun (pictures will follow later).  Among may cool things that happened, I got a large jug of homemade (by the groom himself!) maple syrup.  I double wrapped it in plastic and put it in a zip lock and buried it in my suitcase.  At baggage, I could hear the forward-reverse-forward-reverse of something catching the inspector’s eye and I stuck around.  The inspector says “I’m guessing there’s a large jug of maple syrup in here.  He probably sees lots of that in the major conduit out of New Hampshire/Vermont.  He found the jug under my suit as I told him and all got repacked and sent on its way.  National security was once again in tact after the inspection of my syrup.  (Seriously though, you haven’t lived til you’ve had real non- Aunt Jemima syrup).

I’m bored out of my head at the moment.  I’ve got a three hour layover here in Dallas and I’m also food fogging a little from the bacon cheeseburger/two Amstel light lunch.  Three hours on a plane and I’m home.  See you back in California.

 

Written by arnold

September 16, 2007 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Travel

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. we don’t have any “non fate easy mocha” coffee drinks in my town. we’re all Calvinists.

    Dustin

    September 18, 2007 at 1:04 pm

  2. That’s why you don’t blog from airports on travels days. Too delirious to spell check.

    arnold

    September 18, 2007 at 1:18 pm

  3. Next time, you should tell the airport people to have a taste of your mocha. If it tastes like a bomb, you’ll be happy to throw it out. If not, then they can let you bring on your overpriced drink instead of having to buy another overpriced drink on that flight.

    SA Stateside Cubby

    September 18, 2007 at 8:16 pm


Leave a Reply

