arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

brand new house

with one comment

As many of you know, I’ve got my townhouse listed for sale. One of the first steps in the process is to have a caravan of real estate agents come in and look at the place. They give feedback on the price and ideas to make the place more marketable. The feedback was mostly good… the price seems about right and they suggested painting in a few places and cleaning. Cleaning. That was a little disappointing.

In the last few weeks I’ve been doing various repairs and upgrades and at each step I’ve cleared stuff out. In the last month or two, I’ve thrown out 18 big garbage bags of stuff and done tons of cleaning. So to be told the place needs cleaning was a letdown. So I followed my agent’s advice and called a housecleaner. Maria and her friend got here at 1 and cleaned their hearts out til 5.

Amazingly, anything that could be picked up, any surface that you could see was cleaned, shined and sparkled by the time they were done. The glass tile I use as a coaster on my coffee table gleams. My three tier inbox was dusted and polished. Receipts I thought were long eaten by gnomes appeared in a neat poile on my desk. Needless to say, the showers and toilets shine like the sparkle in my eye when Katherine Heigl walks on screen.

So what’s my problem now? I’m afraid to cook for fear of messing up the stove. I’m confined to one bathroom so I don’t lose the sparkle. And when I take a shower, I am forced to wipe down the glass doors and the fixtures. I gotta sell this place soon. I feel like I’m living in a museum.

Written by arnold

October 8, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hahahahaha….you are really funny. i can show you what spray to get for your shower doors and a good squeegee helps with cleaning the glass. in cooking, just wipe it down as soon as you cook. keeps it really clean. if its frying, get one of those flat splash protector thingy’s they sell in the store. also, i was going to tell you, i have candles you can light when you have people come over. my girlfriend told me one thing their real estate person told them is to build the atmosphere of home, so she would bake cookies to give her house a homey feel when people came through. now, if you don’t want to bake cookies, i have some yummy candles you can lite that will give it that aroma. let me know.

    Griz

    October 9, 2007 at 2:19 pm


Leave a Reply

