arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Urban Play 4

with 6 comments

Scene: ghetto Ralph’s. 

A man with a small radio is playing hard core rap music really loudly and gets in line.  A good looking Filipino man stands five feet away deciding whether to get in line behind him or get in line in the other aisle that has more people in it.

Cashier: I’m sorry, you’ll have to turn that down.

Man with player: I bet if this was Elvis Presley you wouldn’t be complaining.

(He leaves the first aisle and moves to the other aisle)

(From the other aisle) Man with player: You have your style and I have mine.

(The good looking Filipino man moves to the now vacated and quieter line)

The good looking Filipino man thinks to himself: Yeah but no one else is playing their style to everyone else at volume 9.

Man with player, muttering: Tell me I can’t play my music.

aaaaaaand scene.  Thank you.  We’ll be casting for this production next week.

Written by arnold

October 15, 2007 at 2:39 pm

Posted in Life in (near) LA

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After I read your blog, I pictured you in a Santa Claus suit claiming your designated corner, while Cup O’ Soup doesn’t mine a biznit sharing the space with you.

    “Westside, when the soup’s in the cup, Drink it while it’s hot, drink it while it’s hot.”

    Remember, it’s not about kicking a Cup O’ Soup in the croutons.

    And maybe, just maybe with your amplification system and his flare for rhythm and song you could really open some hearts.

    It sounds like Homelessville Part. 2 to me.

    Steve

    October 16, 2007 at 7:25 am

  2. I just think it’s amazing that there was a good looking Filipino man there at the same time as you.

    Did you know him?

    Eric

    October 16, 2007 at 11:36 pm

  3. Steve – That’s pretty funny. And nice job remembering all those lines from the skit.

    Eric – What a jerk.

    arnold

    October 17, 2007 at 6:32 pm

  4. I have to admit, when I read through it quickly I thought “What is he doing checking out Filipino guys?”

    What can I say? A little slow on the uptake lately…

    Peggy C

    October 20, 2007 at 12:10 pm

  5. I’m glad you got that figured out.

    arnold

    October 20, 2007 at 5:21 pm

  6. I’m not so good looking… so, I’ll be the man with the player.

    Curtis

    October 21, 2007 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

