arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Starbucks fast 2007: Day2

with 6 comments

nostarbucks.jpg

OK.  So after 6 weeks of my trainer being out hunting in Idaho, being too sore to do cardio, having a royalty deadline and various other excuses, I’m on a quest to finish off my weight goals by February of next year.  One quick and easy adjustment… no more daily (sometimes semi daily) iced soy chai latttes.  Those things are 350 calories a piece, even sized down to a grande.  When you’re shooting for 2000 calories a day 350-700 is a big chunk.  So no more.

 Day 1 was fairly uneventful.  I did feel weird not walking down to the corner Starbucks in the late afternoon.  I like that afternoon ritual.  I get outside for a little bit, walk a little and sometimes stop by Eric and Nathalie’s. 

And I did realize how pervasive Starbucks is on Day 1.  I did a little 4 mile run last night (which also explains why it’s hard to go up and down the stairs after last night’s run and the day before’s jump lunges, etc).  Anyway… as I ran, I came within 10 feet of a Starbucks entrance four times.  Not half a block away but ten feet!  These things are all over the place and it makes it hard to run when you’re looking inside wishing you could have a decaf grande nonfat mocha.

Sure, you could say “Oh just have one.  One won’t kill you.”  Tell that to my extra five pounds on top of my remaining goal.

Alright.  So thirteen pounds to lose.  And no Starbucks until then.  (Well…. zero calorie iced teas are OK!)  More updates to follow.  Which will probably include caffeine withdrawal and slight dizziness.  And little Italian ladies saying “Why you cry?”

Written by arnold

November 30, 2007 at 1:29 pm

Posted in Food, Life in (near) LA

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A tall Tangerine Frappuccino juice blend (think tangy fruit slurpy) is 140 calories and provides 220% of the Vitamin C for your day! MMMMMM!

    Peggy C

    November 30, 2007 at 2:48 pm

  2. Oh gosh. That’s the exact reason I don’t get Jamba Juices. I dont know if it’s the concentrated fruit or all the vitamins, but after I have one, I get flush and kinda tingly I guess… sugar high? fructose high? vitamin high?

    Not a fun post drink feeling. Unlike soy chais. Creamy spicy goodness!

    arnold

    November 30, 2007 at 3:48 pm

  3. Why don’t you have your latte, but run an extra mile? Simple.

    Steve

    November 30, 2007 at 6:21 pm

  4. Well… cause you only burn about 150 calories running a mile. So you gotta run two. And if you run two miles and drink a chai latte… then you’re even again. No weight loss.

    arnold

    November 30, 2007 at 8:36 pm

  5. Dude, I am VERY proud of you. Good stuff. I know how tough that is for me, and I’m even not seeing them every day. Good luck!

    SA Cubby

    December 1, 2007 at 2:53 am

  6. Move to Tuebingen. It’s a 45 minute train ride to the nearest Starbucks sign.

    Incidentally, I had my first Starbucks since moving to Europe last week in the Munich hauptbanhof. It was a moving experience: I actually took pictures as I sat in my stuffed chair and sipped a latte from my Starbucks mug (!) and read The Beginnings of Christianity (H. C. Kee) to the sounds of Christmas music as it snowed outside. (It’s frightening how significant an 0ccasion that was for me, nevermind that my 3 euro latte was the equivalent of about $4.50!)

    Just a little taste of home.

    The Kyle

    December 1, 2007 at 3:29 am


Leave a Reply

