arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

math

with 6 comments

This is driving me crazy.  Geo’s taking the GRE (I think) and he sends me the following problem:

A bike travels f/3 feet per m minutes.  How far does it go in s seconds?

I did this in my head, being the math genius that I am.  And I got it wrong.  So then I had him email the question to me to make sure I read it right and redid the problem.  And I got it wrong again. 

This is driving me crazy that I can’t answer a simple algebra problem!

Written by arnold

December 7, 2007 at 2:31 am

Posted in Life in (near) LA

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Geez, I broke into a cold sweat just reading that!

    You know how people say they’d like to go back and be young again? I’m not one of those people, because I remember math class.

    Peggy C

    December 7, 2007 at 4:18 am

  2. Just shows you what a nerd I am. I want to ake the GRE just to know what I can get on it.

    arnold

    December 7, 2007 at 10:00 am

  3. Take it! The practice test online is an action-packed two hours. The real one is about four. Yick.

    The Kyle

    December 7, 2007 at 10:17 am

  4. In case you’re serious:
    http://www.princetonreview.com/grad/testprep/testprep.asp?TPRPAGE=80

    I think you have to register for princetonreview in order to take it, but it is free. And it’s hard to find a free demo test online. There are lots of practices tests that give you how many you got right, but you need the real thing–the computer adaptive test scoring system.

    Let me know how you do. 🙂

    The Kyle

    December 7, 2007 at 10:54 am

  5. In case I’m serious (scoffs). I’m serious like the plague. I’l be taking it (and outscoring you) soon.

    arnold

    December 7, 2007 at 12:54 pm

  6. Scoff away, but you won’t beat the score that I got on my practice test. I’d put money on it.

    (Notice I’m not making any bets about what I got on my REAL test. But what does that one matter?)

    The Kyle

    December 8, 2007 at 12:08 pm


Leave a Reply

