arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Tape backups

with 5 comments

You know what I kind of miss?  VCR tapes.  I know.  It’s like missing busy signals or answering machines or those huge projection TVs with the red, blue, and green lights down at the pizza place.

I was cleaning my room and came across a box of old tapes.  Performances from church, vacation trips, old Seinfeld, Friends and Roswell episodes, stuff like that.  These tapes are like beloved mix cassettes you find and play again and again for a while.  All mine were all unlabeled; all the same brand and all black.  George used to get mad at me when we were roommates.  He couldn’t tell my tapes apart and he’d get frustrated when he’d have to look for a program I taped for him.  You remember how that went?  Put in a tape.  Rewind a bit, Play… still can’t find it, Fast Forward a bit, Play.  Repeat until you find your program or until you’re convinced it’s not on the tape.  (No one ever pushed Stop first, just Rewind then Play.  I can’t ever remember a tape breaking so it must have been OK.)  Geo’d make some comment about marking my tapes and I’d look at the pile, pick out my taping tape and rewind to the beginning and there was his program.  Of course, I could tell which was which from the scratches and marks on the cases.

Were you like me?  I had my saving tapes, like my Seinfeld tape and my Friends tape.  You just taped from the end of the last show and hope you had enough tape for the last bit of the show.  And then I had my Taping tape.  Anything I’d watch once and then record over went on that tape.  And the funny thing is you’d see clips and blurbs of various things I’d taped before inbetween new shows.  (Or sometimes that 60 minutes of Sky Network because something went wrong with the channel changing.)

I miss my tapes.  You never know what forgotten gem you’d uncover or memory that could be brought back.  I’m glad I found these tapes again.  If only I had a player still.  🙂

Written by arnold

February 1, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Posted in Technology

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can burn them to DVD for you. I’ve been archiving all kinds of tapes for my family–all the way back to stuff with my parents on it.

    Peggy C

    February 2, 2008 at 4:33 am

  2. Ohmigosh, any chance of finding any tapes with The Extreme doing “I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight”??????

    SA Cubby

    February 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

  3. Peggy… how do you get the audio/video into the computer? Need a special card?

    Cubby… it’s the EXCHANGE. I don’t even want to guess who the Extreme is.

    arnold

    February 2, 2008 at 3:05 pm

  4. I have an independent DVD burner that I can plug my VCR into. No editing that way, just straight source-to-DVD burning, but you’d at least have it on DVD. I’ve burned at least 100 hours of tape for friends and family. Irreplaceable stuff–my mom, my nephew’s birth, recitals, etc.

    I do have some editing software on my computer, but since it’s a PC, it’s not nearly as cool as what you can do with a Mac. Jason has all that shwanky shtuff!

    I’m new to video editing software. I’ve done music editing stuff for a while, but I’m just now getting into video stuff.

    Peggy C

    February 4, 2008 at 6:42 pm

  5. Wow. Way cool I have a standalone DVD burner as well. I’ll have to see if I have that capability. Thanks for the heads up!

    arnold

    February 4, 2008 at 8:24 pm


Leave a Reply

