arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

and now it’s 14

with 6 comments

7.jpgThe Vatican has just upgraded the seven deadly sins to 14.

For those just tuning in to the whole Catholic Church thing, the Church divides sins into venial, which aren’t so bad, and deadly, which threaten your soul’s eternity.

The new ones are drug abuse, abortion, environmental pollution, excessive wealth, the creation of poverty and genetic manipulation. I’m pretty much behind all of these as being sins although I’ll have to end my project on genetically enhanced corn (I spliced it with butter and was working on making it self pop).

Interestingly, the seven virtues, chastity, abstinence, temperance, diligence, patience, kindness and humility, have not been updated. I think I’d add “letting people in while in traffic”, answering emails and voicemails in a timely fashion, reciprocating when your friend pays for a meal (if you have the means), being gracious with typos, moderation in inviting friends to Facebook applications, participating in national politics and travel.

It’s an eclectic list, but worth thinking about.

PS. I just noticed that Charity is not listed as one of the seven virtues. Which is a bummer because I bought a candle from one of those kids that stand in front of Target and I thought that should count for something.

Written by arnold

March 11, 2008 at 8:44 am

Posted in Religion

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. From an outreach standpoint (I know, not a very Catholic concept), do you really think that adding more deadly sins is the best way forward? They could’ve at least added more virtues as well. I suppose this will only reinforce the hardened stereotypes of an embittered generation of folks who learned from Catholic School what they weren’t allowed to do.

    As an aside, your list of virtues begins with “chastity” and “abstinence” — which sound very similar to my Protestant ears. I believe the list of virtues begins with “chastity” and “charity.” And why in the world isn’t charity the highest virtue? Didn’t Jesus think it was? In any case, you get virtue points for buying the candle. (Although Karen has informed me that once you post your virtues on the web they no longer count as virtues. But I think it still applies as long as your right hand doesn’t know what your left hand is typing.)

    The Kyle

    March 11, 2008 at 10:03 am

  2. I think you left out a phrase in the second sentence. Something like, “… bad and deadly, and the others, which threaten your soul’s eternity.

    Thankfully, ‘being gracious with typos’ has not become part of the virtue canon.

    e.

    March 11, 2008 at 11:17 am

  3. No. That’s not what I meant. Try the new sentence. Same words, plus one comma and some italics.

    arnold

    March 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

  4. I agree with Karen…Blogging about virtues is about as virtuous as a can of peanuts

    napkinology

    March 11, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  5. OK. Lots to do here…

    Firstly, Kyle. Let’s remember that these lists aren’t mine. The fact that chastity is on there is the fault of Aurelius Clemens Prudentius, who wrote a poem around 400 AD. Chastity made the list because it opposed the deadly sin of lust. Interestingly, the Catholic Church countered with their own list, ranked in order of importance: Humility, Kindness, Forgiveness, Diligence (which seems more like Persistence to me), Charity, Temperance and Chastity. And as for the public discussion of virtues, it seems to me that the bragging about one’s own virtues rather than a simple discussion of virtues, personal or not, should result in the loss of virtue points.

    Secondly, I am not in favor of adding more sins to nail people with. The Catholic Church has plenty of practice at making people feel guilty, speaking as someone who was raised Catholic. Rather than advocating increased guilt, I am for increased dialogue of spiritual matters. Dialogue can lead to more dialogue, which can lead to introspection and perhaps commitment and resolve. I think the more people take time to consider things besides the mundane things of existence, the better off they can be. After all, a plant must receive water at regular intervals before it finally blooms.

    Thirdly, Dustin, I bet there are plenty of people that would see the virtue in a can of peanuts over, say, a certain governor. (Not to point fingers.)

    arnold

    March 12, 2008 at 3:16 pm

  6. Right. I was agreeing with chastity. I was pointing out thet you had omitted the virtue of charity.

    The Kyle

    March 12, 2008 at 3:26 pm


Leave a Reply

