arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

A cookie by any other name…

with 9 comments

My friends and I played poker fairly regularly every Thursday night for a good period of time.  The usual libations were present as were the usual snacks.  Poker, no matter how intense the game, and even Halo for that matter came to a stop at the cookie time.

Without fail, some would bring along the bright yellow and black package of what I call “Bake and Break” cookies.  (I actually get a lot of flack for saying it this way.  I like this order better sonically and besides… the title is not a recipe to be followed, just a list of things you do with the dough.

We managed to find some measure of detente when it came to cookie time.  Sammy will only eat the dough raw and doesn’t even really care for finished cookies.  Kyle needs to have melty middles.  Zac was always concerned with quantity rather than quality.  (In fact, one time he breezed by because he “couldn’t stay long”.  After he left, I asked where all the cookies went.  Various answers of “I had one” and “I ate two” were shouted out leaving us with the mathematical deduction that Zac had in fact eaten a dozen or so on his own while he was busy “not staying long”.  It would not surprise me at all if he was on his way home and smelled the cookies from the freeway and decided to stop over.)

So what was I saying?  Oh yeah… so cookies.  The topic is Crisp cookies versus gooey cookies.  I hate getting to Starbucks or the some other coffee shop and seeing a chocolate chip cookie.  I have them add that to my (low calorie, low fat, low sodium) sandwich and look forward to the day’s small treat.  I bite… and it’s chewy or soft.  I disdain this.  It’s the same reason I like toffees and not caramels.  I just don’t like the chewy.  So you can keep your floppy, warmed over cookie dough.  Give me a cookie that’s got a crisp edge and a solid center.  Warm with melty chocolate chips chunks is even better.

I’m sure Phoebe Buffay’s French aunt Neslay Tole-househ would agree

Written by arnold

April 2, 2008 at 2:15 pm

Posted in Versus

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmmm… cookies! :o) I have to say that the doughier the cookie, the better it is. I’ll eat cookies of any kind though… as long as there is no milk in them of course.

    I have to hide my cookies from the Zac Cookie Monster! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come home from a 12 hour day at work, dreaming of my yummy cookie that I saved for the occasion, & found it disappeared. Cookies are not even safe from the low-carb diet, let me tell you. :o)

    Shunshine Girl

    April 2, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  2. BAKEANDBREAK!!! RAW, BITCHES

    Sam

    April 2, 2008 at 9:17 pm

  3. Well said, Sammy. Well said.

    Break and Bakes — let’s call them what they are so we don’t devolve into a mob-rules democratic system of naming things according to their “sonic appeal” — are best warm, but able to hold up under their own weight. They shouldn’t just fold when you pick them up. That means not just warm dough. As a side note: Why do all girls (and Sammy) like cookie dough? I wonder if there’s a correlation between cookie dough eaters and Phil Collins fans.

    Semantics aside, I more or less side with Arnold on this versus post: Real, homemade cookies should be warm with crisp edges. I’ll add that they need a proper butter-flour ratio so they’re not cakey. Cause if I want cake, I’ll get cake. Right, Reynolds?

    the kyle

    April 3, 2008 at 9:39 am

  4. I am a pancookiest–cookies are all good, in any way, shape, or form. Dough, baked soft, baked crisp–heck, I’ve eaten FROZEN cookie dough! (Yeah, I know…you’re all backing away now…)

    Peggy C

    April 3, 2008 at 11:09 am

  5. Lets get down to the real issues here. Phil Collins is just plain talented. Cake is just plain gross. If you say different, I might say something like, “Thats what Hitler would say.”

    napkinology

    April 4, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  6. cookies are good, I will vote for break and bakes.

    If we call raw fish “sushi”, we should have a cooler name for cookie dough…just saying

    napkinology

    April 4, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  7. sushi is to cooked fish, as ________ is to baked cookies

    napkinology

    April 4, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  8. Well I guess that would be coo-shi. But that just sounds unappetizing.

    And I love the term “pan cookieist”.

    And Mr Napkin has given me an idea for the next Versus, when we take on Pie vs Cake.

    arnold

    April 5, 2008 at 8:29 am

  9. I was hoping that made sense–pancookiest like pantheist, as opposed to liking pan-cookies (bar cookies). 🙂

    Pie vs. Cake….hmm….I just really don’t see how anyone can be anti-dessert. Maybe your next versus should be Salty vs. Sweet instead. People tend to fall into one camp or another.

    Peggy C

    April 7, 2008 at 11:57 pm


Leave a Reply

