arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Up for grabs

with 2 comments

Every place I’ve worked has had a counter where people give away food. Odd concept right? But I bet you have one of those places too.

At the last place I worked, we had a very tiny kitchen area for the third floor employees that consisted of a microwave, a sink, a toaster and a counter. Pretty much anything that was on the counter was meant to be shared. This could be anything from a bag of chips left over from someone’s El Pollo loco run to homemade cookies to party goodies people didn’t want in their house. Pretty much the latter was just me. If I had people over and there were cookies, cakes or other desserts left over, I’d bring em to work and leave them on the counter so I wouldn’t end up eating them.

The odd thing… didn’t matter if it was dessert, anything people left out on the counter was usually gone in an hour or so of leaving it there. So my left over party desserts? Gone by 11 am. Isn’t that gross?!

People were such termites about food in that area it became positively unsafe. The president of the company’s exec assistant left her Lean Cuisine to cool on the counter and someone ate it. LOL… I still laugh at that one and no, it was not me. Her eaten lunch led to a company wide voice mail that threatened reprisals and an office to office sniff search. Now you know why I still laugh about that.

Anyway, all that to say, things are not much different in the new place. Well… slightly different. I work out in Santa Monica now and the people out here are a little more tree hugger/eclectic. This is reflected on the counter offerings. I’ve seen weird Italian crackers that looked like oysters, slimy tofu and yesterday’s offering… unsalted mozzarella. No crackers, no veggies, just a big mozzarella, sliced in a few big chunks and a sign that said “unsalted… help yourself.”

This is why I sneak off to Starbucks.

UPDATE:

Apparently, some of the mozzarella went uneaten.  Help yourself to the mozzarella in the fridge (that was left out for a day!).

Written by arnold

August 6, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Posted in Life in (near) LA, Work

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No more working from home? You moved out to the 909 and now have to commute to Santa Monica? That’s a big switch, yikes!

    dennisbaker

    August 7, 2008 at 5:10 am

  2. Oh gosh no. I”m still in Pasadena. Me moving to the 909 would involve me buying a truck, a gun rack and a banjo, which I’m not prepared to do.

    (The above is just a joke and shouldn’t be taken as an insult by my 909 friends. After all, many of the 909ers I know are theologians, rocket scientists and nuclear physicists.)

    arnold

    August 7, 2008 at 7:54 am


Leave a Reply

