arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

The Clinton Convention

with 7 comments

Alright… I know I’m about to lose 80% of you with yet one more political post. I’ll do something different next… promise. Meanwhile…

I think the Democratic Convention should be renamed the Clinton Convention. It’s simply amazing to me that someone who lost the primaries race will be entering the convention like the presumptive candidate. Jack Cafferty from CNN goes into further detail: Her name will be placed into nomination. She’ll give a prime-time address, introduced by her daughter Chelsea. Her husband, former President Bill Clinton, will get his own plum speaking slot on a separate night. She will also have her own production team to create the introductory video that precedes her speech – the same people who produced Bill Clinton’s biography video “The Man from Hope” in 1992.” (Perhaps Bill’s speech would look like this).

“I happen to believe that we will come out stronger if people feel that their voices were heard and their views were respected,” Clinton said, adding that giving them a voice could provide a sort of “catharsis” for some of her supporters.

Really? Seriously? Except for the small group of hardcore supports (who only seem to uphold the process as long as their candidate wins), no one else really seems to need this other than Hillary. This is understandable seeing as how grueling the race was but someone needs to let this historically important contender that the race is over, the flag has dropped, the lights are out, Madonna has left the building and the fat lady has sung.

What’s really happening here is this. Despite what they’re saying to the press, I believe the Clintons are hoping for a last minute change of heart by some superdelegates towards the Clinton camp. All through the tail end of her campaign, Hillary stressed that the race could be won by the superdelegates changing their votes (which they can do at any time prior to the actual casting).

Consider this… on May 6, 2008, North Carolina superdelegate David Parker is quoted as saying, “Hillary Clinton told me last night that the ‘elected’ delegates could switch their vote at the convention and I told her that she was talking like a lawyer,” Parker said Tuesday. (I checked around on Google and Parker seems to be an actual S-D but the quote could only be found on one blog that seems to “lean a little” lol) Add that to the fact that Michigan and Florida have had their floor votes reinstated.

All this to say a few things:

1. I am convinced that Hillary Clinton is still trying to win the nomination though she will put her hands to her cheeks and say “Oh no, oh no, this wasn’t supposed to happen! Why thank you!”.

2. It is very concerning that Senator Obama does not seem to be able to effectively manage this candidate who mismanaged her campaign to the tune of a twenty million dollar debt. (Undoubtedly people like Castro, Putin, and Jong Il will be more difficult than she).

3. If Hillary Clinton takes the nomination in Denver, I will either vote for John McCain or not vote at all.

Written by arnold

August 15, 2008 at 11:54 am

Posted in Politics

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yea Obama. Boo everyone else.

    the kyle

    August 15, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  2. Totally agree, Hillary will play that game. We all know that, but if she does, they say some supporters of will not vote for Obama, guess what, Hillary will lose by the largest margin she could possibly believe. I believe the Repugs have a hand in this as to throw a monkey wrench in the convention. My question is there was suppose to have been 200 Clinton campaign memos release, but only about 10 so far, they are trying to keep the dirty laundry out before the convention. McSlain will have Hil for lunch meat if she pulls an “upset.”

    rightbackatyou

    August 15, 2008 at 12:25 pm

  3. I totally agree with your opinion on this. Nothing surprises me with her. Shoot, now I have to watch the Dumbocrat convention to see if you are right…

    Kim

    August 16, 2008 at 12:30 am

  4. I am not an Obama fan, but neither am I a McCain fan. There hasn’t been anyone this year that made me want to vote, and I really have no interest at all in what Hillary does. It seems pompous and unnecessary and desperate, but if the Dems are going to let it happen, then that’s their problem.

    Frankly, I find it hard to believe that anyone at that level of power is not corrupt (you know what they say about power….), so who could possibly be worth voting for? There isn’t a single candidate making promises that they actually can keep (let alone intend to keep). I hate this time of year…all the hopefuls stand up there and try to spin their speeches so they sound like something we want to hear without actually saying anything useful, or more cynically, anything we can hold them to.

    Peggy C

    August 16, 2008 at 3:04 am

  5. That’s pretty much my take as well. For me it comes down to character. I believe Obama will try and unite and inspire and make change, though I am unsure how successful he will be. I believe McCain won’t be too far different from Bush.

    The image of the phoenix is a great one for me. I think the Republicans (though I still list myself as one) have had power too long and now are focused on retaining and amazing power rather than genuinely trying to help people. I honestly believe that in today’s climate, one party could offer a plan to help every person in the US and the other party would vote it down simply because it’s the other camp’s idea.

    arnold

    August 16, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  6. According to CNN, Hillary will be ceremonially releasing her delegates to the Obama campaign at the DNC on Wednesday. Kinda takes some of the wind out of your conspiracy theory sails, doesn’t it? (see your pt #1 above: “I am convinced that Hillary is still trying to win the nomination…”)

    Or maybe in spite of actual events, theories about her evil, conniving schemes continue (“releasing her delegates is all part of the act to throw us off her trail!”). That’s the thing about conspiracy theories; they tend to rely more on caricature and creativity than evidence. There is absolutely no chance of any sly delegate shifting or a Clinton nomination. No chance.

    BTW, you see McCain’s new ad, jumping all over Obama’s decision to not choose Hillary, saying Obama didn’t choose her because she criticized him too much? Amazing that they release that right after releasing video of Biden criticizing Obama. I mean, do they actually even attempt to be coherent?

    the kyle

    August 24, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  7. I would love to be proven wrong and I would respect Hillary for making such a unifying move.

    arnold

    August 24, 2008 at 9:57 pm


Leave a Reply

