arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Thursday is for ranting

with 7 comments

Traditionally this time of year is for the holiday spirit but I’m not quite there yet so I have one last rant post for the year.

#1-Why is instant oatmeal so sweet?
I’m having a bowl of bananas & cream oatmeal and this thing is sweeter than the Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bombs that Calvin & Hobbes used to eat.  I’m pretty sure that oatmeal is supposed to be the main flavor here not sugar.  This food lacks subtlety and surprise.  What I like is when your girlfriend leans in and give you a quick peck on the cheek and grabs your ass just a little.  That’s sweet and quaint.  I’m sure pilgrims did that all the time before our society got all oversexualized and stuff.  You get what you were expecting and a sweet little surprise.  That’s how “sweet” should be in oatmeal.

#2-Why are we beaming The Day the Earth Stood Still to Alpha Centauri?
Essentially this movie is about aliens coming to Earth and obliterating it.  And we’re send that to the nearest aliens.  Am I the only one seeing a problem with this?  This is like the Spartans making the 300 movie and sending it to Persia.  Only with less capes and codpieces and more lasers and robots.

Oh hold on.

OK, I’m back.  One of my bosses came in and was reading over my shoulder and I said “It’s not polite to read what people are blogging” and he shot back “It’s not good form to blog at work” and I said “Well.” and having lost that logical debate he left and here I am again.

#3-Why is it so hot in December?
Please Santa… send me some snow and some cold and flurries.  This California heat and sunshine is getting old.

And that’s Thursday’s rants.

Written by arnold

December 11, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Posted in I'm Just Sayin'

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s about time someone took on the instant oatmeal industry with a good not-quite-inappropriate-but-noticably-PG-13 analogy.

    Partly sunny in Seattle today, high of 46. Snow flurries this weekend.

    The Kyle

    December 11, 2008 at 1:47 pm

  2. Too much eh? LOL

    arnold

    December 11, 2008 at 3:55 pm

  3. Just right.

    The Kyle

    December 11, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  4. You still employed? 🙂

    Kim

    December 11, 2008 at 10:54 pm

  5. ha, yeah I got the username. I can’t believe no one had this account name yet.

    The truth of your analogy is scary

    spartacusbonesaw

    December 12, 2008 at 10:25 am

  6. Still employed… he recognized he was defeated by my thundering logic.

    And as for you Bonesaw… you need an avatar. I’m thinking Skeletor from He-Man.

    I think everyone likes the analogy because pilgrims were in it. They’re the epitome of hard work and innocence.

    arnold

    December 12, 2008 at 11:15 am

  7. Um, Arnold, I didn’t you had experience with girlfriends who give you a peck on the cheek and then grab your ass. At least enough to compare it to tasting oatmeal. Maybe after you told her you were comparing her to oatmeal (and whether you actually meant that or not would be irrelevant to her), the aftermath was so painful that you promised never to mention the horrific incident in public again. Can’t say I blame you.

    SA Cubby

    December 17, 2008 at 2:07 pm


Leave a Reply

