arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

End of the year news

with 2 comments

Some pretty incredible things are happening in the world.  Here’s what you missed while siting around drinking eggnog and opening gifts from Best Buy…

For instance, scientists plan on igniting a tiny sun.  This could lead to cheap, unlimited power for the planet.  Imagine a little sun in a box powering your house or your car.  Sounds cool eh?  I suppose the worse thing that could happen is people could leave a small sun on a park bench and you don’t see it and you sit down on it.  Or maybe a tiny sun implodes into a small black hole and now you can’t find one of your socks because it’s been sucked into the event horizon.  Still, it seems worth the risk.

Also, the Cassini Equinox mission is sending back some great pictures from Saturn.  I can’t help looking at this one of Saturn’s moon Enceladus and thinking, “That’s no moon… that’s a space station”.

And lastly, the last words of the Obama swearing in may just be “….so help me.”  if the atheists get their way.  A California doctor and lawyer is suing so he doesn’t need to be subjected to hearing references to God and religion as he watches the inauguration.  Paprika bothers me but you don’t see me trying to outlaw goulash.  I’m just sayin’.

Written by arnold

December 31, 2008 at 2:47 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, way to capture the nuance of the “so help me God” case: “If the atheists get their way.” I think most atheists deserve more credit than this Newdow guy who’s filing the lawsuit, which actually says (and I’m not making this up):

    “Plaintiffs are placed in the untenable position of having to choose between not watching the presidential inauguration or being forced to countenance endorsements of purely religious notions that they expressly deny.”

    Oh, the injustice of such an “untenable” position! Aren’t McCain/Palin fans in the exact same boat, having to either turn their heads in horror or watch something they don’t agree with? Or what if I don’t believe in oaths at all (Jehovah’s Witnesses). What if I don’t believe in presidents (anarchists)? Can I file a lawsuit on the same principle and get on TV? The fact that this story has even gotten a whiff of press coverage baffles me.

    the kyle

    December 31, 2008 at 4:58 pm

  2. Tiny suns exploding turning into tiny black holes?? No wonder I can never find anything! Once I give my wife this information she’ll HAVE to admit that it’s not my fault.

    SA Cubby

    January 1, 2009 at 4:20 pm


Leave a Reply

