arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

The annual resolutions post

with 8 comments

What’s a blog in January without its resolutions post?  It’s like football without playoffs, Pasadena without the Rose Parade or your local church without a tithing series.

I’ve read a few others’ resolutions.  And aside from one egghead project that I’m going to give a try, I haven’t seen anything too original.  So without further procrastination, here are mine for 2009.  (If these seem long and overly descriptive, it’s because this will also be my reference document for the year.)

1. Lose ten pounds by March 31.  This will entail a few disciplines I’m doing to get to my goal.  No eating out Monday through Friday (this includes Starbucks).  M-F meals are all to be home made with care for calories and fat.  Weekends are off but without going crazy.  Weight training three times a week (I’ve already done this for years) and cardio two times a week plus a long session on the weekend (cardio has totally fallen off the schedule in 2008).  Use the long session to hang out with friends (racquetball, running, hiking, bicycling).

2. Stop using the debit card instead of cash and go back to using it as an ATM card.  I think it’s easier to manage and count cash than receipts, but more importantly it’s too dangerous to use debit cards that attach to your main bank account.

3. Make dates a priority this year.  This one is pretty self explanatory. I just need to do it.

That’s it for now.  I think three are very doable and I can reassess after the first 90 days and make adjustments.  As always, feel free to post your thoughts or your own resolutions.

Bonus resolution.  There’s a Food Network program on in the background and one of the star chefs just said “vinegar-ette”.  My bonus resolution is to correct people who say vinaigrette incorrectly.

Written by arnold

January 4, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Posted in Personal

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You correct everyone who says that and I’ll correct everyone who calls us half Armenians ARE-MEANIE-ANS.

    Kim

    January 7, 2009 at 9:27 pm

  2. Wait, how are you supposed to say it? Because Arminian is something else that I learned about in seminary, and I can’t think of another way to say Armenian — and I worked for a year in Glendale when most of my clients were Armenian!

    the kyle

    January 7, 2009 at 11:08 pm

  3. Don’t mind Kyle. He says “laig” and “baig” and “bowt” and “hoola hoooop”.

    arnold

    January 8, 2009 at 9:17 am

  4. Seriously. Someone help me here. How is it pronounced?
    And Arnold, everyone says “laig.” “Bowt” you just made up, and “hoola hoooop” is your invention from years ago. (I’ll give you “baig” though.)

    the kyle

    January 8, 2009 at 11:29 pm

  5. Everyone says “leg”. Rhymes with “egg”.

    Arnold

    January 8, 2009 at 11:32 pm

  6. By the way… here’s how you say “hula hoopa-ed”

    arnold

    January 8, 2009 at 11:55 pm

  7. Oh that’s right! Fuller is out that way by all those Ar-meanie-ans. I was always taught it was AR-MEAN-YAN. Anyway, that’s just my bonus pet peeve. And now I will say VINEGAR-ETTE twenty times. 🙂

    Kim

    January 9, 2009 at 11:52 am

  8. Hey, I think Rachelle was a little peeved at me. I didn’t remember that part. And where’s the rest of that entertaining video, anyway???

    the kyle

    January 9, 2009 at 12:36 pm


Leave a Reply

