arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

25 random things about my Seattle trip

with 5 comments

I went to Seattle last weekend.  It was Kyle’s birthday and his wife thought it would be fun to surprise him by having some of his good friends come up and visit him.  Rather than writing a long trip summary, I am instead, writing a 25 Things post like the one going around Facebook.

1. Karen is a cool wife.  She put a scavenger hunt together to find things around the city.  2 of the things were me and Dustin.

2. Dungeness crab on top of mac and cheese is pretty fantastic.

3. Howdy Howdy Howdy.

4. Espresso Vivace makes the best caramel latte you will ever have.  Hands down.  (And I’ve tried eight different kinds in California trying to find something similar.)

5. The 24 Hour Fitness in Seattle is as much a dungeon as the 24 Hour Fitness in Pasadena.

6. There is a second Space Needle in Seattle.

7. Dustin is a lot of fun to travel with.

8. Dustin gets cold really easy.

9. Beau had pneumonia.

10. I can throw a Frisbee farther and more accurately than I think I can.  (Some of the time.)

11. Abandoned gas factories make great community parks.

gasworks

12. You can see the Space Needle almost everywhere.

seattle

13. I am constantly tempted to move to Seattle.

14. I did not see Izzie or the ghost once.

15. Macrina is one of the better bakeries on the west coast.

16. I get more exercise in when I’m not with a trainer than with with one.  Same with an iPod.

17. For some reason, 35 degrees there isn’t as cold as 35 degrees here.  I walked to the gym in gym clothes and wasn’t cold at all.

18. Mountains look really cool from planes.

19. Alaska Airlines is my go to airline.  Fast, friendly and efficient.  Like me.

20. We had two waitress last weekend that were over six foot two.  They looked like Kaminoans.

21. I had the best burger I’ve had in a while at a place in Belltown that had an X in it.  Buxleys?  Huxleys?  Anyway, the burger was perfectly seasoned, cooked just to medium and had an awesome seared crust that played well off the soft Macrina-baked brioche.  Add cheddar and bacon and sweet potato fries and you understand why we all skipped dinner.

22. Karen is a good sport for eating dinner on her own.

23. Seattle is where I doubled my previous “string beans eaten to date” count in one sitting.

24.  I like barista art.

25. I am now addicted to the Killer Bunnies game.

25.5 I lost the sleep camel challenge.

Written by arnold

February 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gasworks Park looks so cool! It has been years since I’ve been to Seattle. It is amazing how you can see the Space Needle everywhere around the city!

    Kim

    February 5, 2009 at 1:24 pm

  2. 1. She is pretty cool, except for when she called me retarded, and fat at one point too I think
    2. It’s more then fantastic, its heavenly, and thats saying something
    3. Absolutely. I bet you are still a little sad that phrase lost out for the weekend 🙂
    4. I haven’t run into someone I haven’t told about this place.
    5. Wouldn’t know, but its dungenous
    6. That’s me in that pic, and yes I do look fat
    7. Fun borderline annoying…
    8. Liar
    9. Fair
    10. Fair
    11. That can’t be Seattle, I thought it always rains there?
    12. Where is it?
    13. Who isn’t? Except people who get cold easily, hate the rain, don’t like overcast days, and can’t stand coffee or seafood.
    14. I asked about them too…
    15. Yes
    16. Walking to the drinking fountain is not excercise
    17. 35 degrees there is way colder
    18. yes
    19. Only my second time
    20. And there’s the reference…
    21. Blue cheese burger…oh…my….gosh….sooooo good.
    22. sorry Karen
    23. I don’t think that really happened
    24. Only in Seattle will you find talent like that
    25. Its on its way, Ill be playing this weekend
    25.5. Victorious (as I knew I would be)

    napkinology

    February 5, 2009 at 5:58 pm

  3. This maybe the best reply I’ve ever gotten to a post. I think I scrolled up and down 25.5 times to match answers. We’ll see if Kyle can do any better.

    And really? You don’t see the space needle?

    arnold

    February 5, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  4. A few things that shouldn’t go unmentioned:

    1. Word.
    21. It’s Buckley’s.
    25.5. I’m disputing the Sleep Camel Challenge ruling
    :: throws red flag ::

    Other than that, I’m content with the list and reply. Plus I’m a little dizzy from all the scrolling up and down. Plus I tried and couldn’t come up with clever responses to most on the list. Plus it’s 9:30 pm and way past my bedtime…

    Thanks for making the trip up. It made for a very memorable birthday weekend.

    the kyle

    February 7, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  5. If you had thrown the flag before the 2:00 mark you would have been good. The booth reviewed and said the ruling on the field stands. You had one foot in the bed the whole last ten minutes,

    arnold

    February 7, 2009 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

