arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Ode to a steak

with 4 comments

I wish I had sometning insightful or thought provoking to post, but I don’t and so you guys are getting a post about a steak.

Not just any steak though, the best steak I’ve ever had.  This one was a cross off on the list of things to experience in life.

I did a friend a favor (somethig you need not concern yourself with) who paid me back with the promise of a nice dinner out.  I started with a rib eye steak… one of my favorites, mostly because they’re not too fatty like some of the other super luxurious cuts like prime rib.  I also stuck to the 14 ounce size.  They did have 22 ounce cuts but that’s a lot of meat and I’m not a puma.

The steaks at this establishment are dry aged for a month before they’re ready to be prepared.  Dry aging is a nasty process that you don’t want to know anything about, but it produces an incredibly tender and flavorful piece of meat.  The restaurant prepared it just how I like it, medium rare (although at a real steakhouse you always say one more than you like because they have a tendency to cook a little  rarer than the rest of the culinary world… so I ordered it “medium”) but with a special twist.  They employ a charring oven, which, at 1800 degrees, puts a seared crust on the steak which seals in the juices and also gives you a texture and taste contrast to the rest of the meat.  Lastly they topped it with a bit of blue cheese sprinkles which melted nicely over the steak.  The first bite crunched just a little on the edges from the sear and then practically melted after that.

Everyone who likes steak needs to experience one like that in their life.  It’s really pretty fantastic.  And so was the lobster-bacon-chive mashed potatoes that went with it 🙂

Written by arnold

April 27, 2009 at 12:43 pm

Posted in Food

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ohhhhhh…. That sounds SOOOO good!

    Kim

    April 28, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  2. “Good” does not even begin to describe it. I knew what a king felt like after eating that steak.

    arnold

    April 28, 2009 at 5:41 pm

  3. I’m on a medically supervised weight loss plan right now (25 off), so anything like that sounds like heaven to me.

    Kim

    April 29, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  4. Wow congrats Kim! That’s great work.

    arnold

    April 30, 2009 at 9:02 am


Leave a Reply

