arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

100 Mispronounced words

with 8 comments

Arnoldcam correspondent Peggy sends this important list of 100 mispronounced words.  Hard to believe but I am actually guilty of a few of these!  (It’s not caucaphony?!)

Here are a few of my favorite mispronunciations (I didn’t add words we’ve gone over before like “realator”):

Old-timer’s disease
bob wire
carpool tunnel syndrome
doggy dog world (I say this for fun)
for all intensive purposes
Heineken remover (maybe the best one on the list)
jewlery
preemptory
pronounciation
sherbert
spitting image (really?  it’s not spitting image?)
Tiajuana (Isn’t this Aunt Juana?)
upmost (Oswald Chambers probably loves this one)

I’m sure Kyle will lobby for “Bake and Breaks” to be added to the list.  If they ever do one for punctuation, I think using possessive as plural should be top of the list.  (Seen at Bonesaw’s wedding: Beer, Wine, Coke’s).

Written by arnold

April 30, 2009 at 2:15 pm

Posted in I'm Just Sayin'

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You break them first, THEN bake them! And what’s wrong with spitting image?

    The Kyle

    April 30, 2009 at 3:30 pm

  2. Yeah, I disagreed with “spitting image” being on the list…but “intensive purposes” is one of my HUGE pet peeves, so I’m glad to see that made it.

    Peggy C

    April 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  3. Still “spitting image” is a gross picture. I don’t know how that can be taken as meaning “exact”.

    As for Bake and Breaks, it’s like Sit and Spin. They’re not directions on how to make it (ride it), they’re just a list of things you can do.

    arnold

    April 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  4. I’m a big fan of “probly” myself.

    CO Cubby

    April 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm

  5. What is the proper pronunciation of for all intensive purposes then? I am so serious here!!

    Kim

    April 30, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  6. Neeeeeever mind. I read the link…..

    Kim

    April 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  7. Psh. Just cause the unwashed masses say “spit and image.”

    Stupid.

    The Kyle

    April 30, 2009 at 11:31 pm

  8. Old timers is often said by us old timers to excuse forgetfulness. We use it on purpose as we know we don’t really have Alzheimer’s.

    mhasegawa

    May 2, 2009 at 6:01 am


Leave a Reply

