arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Great John Hughes lines

leave a comment »

Who is John Hughes?  He directed The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, Pretty in Pink and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  he’s responsible for these lines:

Cameron: Why’d you kick me?
Ferris: Where’s your brain?
Cameron: Why’d you kick me?
Ferris: Where’s your brain?
Cameron: Why’d you kick me?
Ferris: Where’s your brain?
Cameron: I asked you first.
Ferris: How can we pick up Sloane if Rooney is there with her?
Cameron: I said for her to be there alone and you freaked.
Ferris: Now, I didn’t hit you. I lightly slapped you.
Cameron: You hit me. Look don’t make me participate in your stupid crap if you don’t like the way I do it. You make me get out of bed, you make me come over here. You make me make a phony phone call to Edward Rooney? The man could squash my nuts into oblivion. And-and-and then, and then, you deliberately hurt my feelings.

Economics Teacher: In 1930, the Republican-controlled House of Representatives, in an effort to alleviate the effects of the… Anyone? Anyone?… the Great Depression, passed the… Anyone? Anyone? The tariff bill? The Hawley-Smoot Tariff Act? Which, anyone? Raised or lowered?… raised tariffs, in an effort to collect more revenue for the federal government. Did it work? Anyone? Anyone know the effects? It did not work, and the United States sank deeper into the Great Depression. Today we have a similar debate over this. Anyone know what this is? Class? Anyone? Anyone? Anyone seen this before? The Laffer Curve. Anyone know what this says? It says that at this point on the revenue curve, you will get exactly the same amount of revenue as at this point. This is very controversial. Does anyone know what Vice President Bush called this in 1980? Anyone? Something-d-o-o economics. “Voodoo” economics.

Cameron: [singing] When Cameron was in Egypt’s land…?let my Cameron go!”

Ferris: Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

Maitre D’: You’re Abe Froman?
Ferris: That’s right, I’m Abe Froman.
Maitre D’: The Sausage King of Chicago?
Ferris: [caught off-guard] … Uh yeah, that’s me.
Maitre D’: Look, I’m very busy. Why don’t you take the kids and go back to the clubhouse?
Ferris: Are you suggesting that I’m not who I say I am?
Maitre D’: I’m suggesting that you leave before I have to get snooty.
Ferris: Snooty?
Maitre D’: Snotty.
Ferris: Snotty?

Ferris: [his recorded message for the doorbell] Who is it? [pause]
Ferris: Oh, I’m sorry. I can’t come to the door right now. I’m afraid that in my weakened condition, I could take a nasty spill down the stairs and subject myself to further school absences. You can reach my parents at their places of business. Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate your concern for my well-being. Have a nice day!

John Bender: Does Barry Manilow know that you raid his wardrobe?

John: Hey, how come Andrew gets to get up? If he gets up, we’ll all get up, it’ll be anarchy.

Brian Johnson: Chicks cannot hold their smoke, dat’s what it is.

Grandma Helen: Oh Sam, let me take a look at you. Fred, she’s gotten her boobies.
Grandpa Fred: I better get my magnifying glass. Ha Ha Ha.
Grandma Helen: Oh, and they are so PERKY.
[reaches to cup them]
Grandma Helen: [cut to:]
Samantha: I can’t believe my grandmother actually felt me up.

Samantha: I can’t believe I gave my panties to a geek.

Long Duk Dong: No more yankie my wankie. The Donger need food.

Long Duk Dong: What’s happenin’ hot stuff?

Andie: You know your talking like that just because I’m going out with Blane
Duckie: His name is Blane? Oh! That’s a major appliance, that’s not a name!

Duckie: You know what an older women does for me?
Iona: Changes your diapers?
Duckie: Touché.

Duckie: It’s called a sense of humor – you should get one – they’re nice.

Andie: So what do you want to drink?
Duckie: Oh you know, beer, scotch, juice box… whatever.

Written by arnold

August 6, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Posted in Entertainment

Leave a Reply

