arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Jesus Likes Art

leave a comment »

I had to drop something off at a museum for work.  While I was there a man dressed as Jesus walked in.  He was 6’2″ at the very least with the long hair and beard that is traditional in the contemporary rendering of Jesus.  He also wore a  long tunic of rough material and Birkenstocks.  The receptionist did not even blink but instead smiled brightly and said “Hi, Jesus.”

I, of course, had to get a picture… and I wish that picture was less fuzzy but you get the idea.  I sent the picture on to some friends of mine and, as they say, hilarity ensued.  (Hilarity to me anyway).

A: At a museum in Beverly Hills.  Jesus is here.

E: I WONDERED where he had gone off to.

G: He is very blurry.  Just like my dreams.

A: He’s 6’2″ at least.  Frank Zappa quality to him.  A lot of the art here has catholic imagery… there may be a moneychangers incident.

E: You should ask him if he’s ever mothered any invention.  You used a lower case “c”.  Do you mean “universal” imagery?

A: If Christ is omnipresent, then yes.

G: Ask him about John 14:13-14.  I have always wondered how to interpret it.

E: If I knew this thread was going to involve hard-core theology I would’ve opted out long ago.

G: If you hold to either transubstantiation or consubstantiation then u r good to go.

A: I believe communion is a beautiful symbol of Jesus’ sacrifice but not his actual flesh and blood.

E: Maybe in the Catholic world but not the catholic world.

G: Consubstantiation is a Protestant view.  Luther would agree.  This thread is hilarious.

E: He used to be Catholic.  He’s been struck down in the luminous presence of the almighty Word.  Or he just went out for a burrito.

A: Actually that’s true.  I’m at Chipotle next to where Jesus is.

G: A burrito with Jesus? Awesome.

A: He said no.  Apparently he only breaks bread not tortillas.

E: You think he’s a Cholula guy or Tapatio fan?  I know a Mexican named Jesus (read: Hey-soos) that breaks tortillas.  Oddly he is not Catholic.

A: That’s a neat trick.

Written by arnold

January 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Posted in Culture, Religion

Leave a Reply

