arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

Shaken and not stirred

leave a comment »

Thought some of you might find this interesting.  First hand earthquake testimony from a friend that lives in Japan…

“It was shaking pretty hard even though the epicenter was about 240 miles away. Definitely the biggest earthquake I have been in, and I have been in quite a few. It will still be some time before I will see how it will personally affect my life, but for the moment, I lost about a thousand bucks in wine. So far, all of my family and friends are fine. The nuclear reactor may meltdown, but as long as another huge quake doesn’t hit, they should be able to take care of the situation without a major catastrophe. The infrastructure here in Tokyo one the best in the world, so almost every aspect of life is back to normal. Even during some of the major aftershocks, I was able to buy beer at the local supermarket. Coins were falling out of the cashier’s hand as she was giving me my change. I said in Japanese, “Oh, another earthquake.” and she shrugged, more focused on making sure she gave me the proper change. Only in Japan. Go figure.”

Written by arnold

March 12, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Travel

Leave a Reply

