arnoldcam

Life as I know it… plus commentary

No Time for Chit Chat?

with one comment

I am not a fan of chit chat.  I’ll usually deflect the rote conversational dances we’re supposed to engage in with people we’ll never see again.

The other day though…. I’m driving through Del Taco (which is always a great way to just get your stuff, pay and leave) and the teenager working the window says “Isn’t it a beautiful day today?”

I look up from my phone and he’s not looking at me.  He’s looking outside.  ”I mean really… this is a beautiful day.”  I kind of smile to myself because I don’t know what else to do.  Here’s a random person, not asking “how are ya?” or “how ya doin’?!” but really asking me a question.

Of course, I was trying to listen to the end of the really entertaining story about a man, a homeless girl and a dog on NPR so I say, “You know what?  it really is” and I flash a genuine smile.

Having satisfied his attempt to be friendly, I turn my attention back to the radio.  ”You know…. my sister doesn’t want to go outside today.  She’s sitting inside reading a book.”  OK.  Radio gets turned off.  ”She doesn’t know what she’s missing obviously.”  See.  I can do this too.

“Read outside, I told her.  You see… we don’t own a television.  All of us are book readers.”  Now normally, I’m annoyed that some stranger is telling me personal information…. I’m a big believer in non-over-sharing.  And double hyphened words.  But I was actually intrigued.  What kind of prairie family doesn’t have a TV?

But then my tacos were ready and I had to leave.  But the next time someone asks me “Isn’t it a beautiful day out?”, I’m going to pay attention.

Written by arnold

December 5, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is a very sad situation and I said all along that Sabrina should give up custody and no one listened to me! I called CPS here in Mich several times about the situation. I sat with her in the emergency room when he was only 2 weeks old and watched and listened to the BS. I gave her my household goods, while she was in the hospital I helped get her into a very nice 2 bedroom apartment in subsidized housing. I took care of Mathew when she had to go back into the hospital, the same day I brought her home to my apartment where she had been living the last 3months of her pregnancy!!! I spent lots of money and time Love and prayed Alot! Sabrina, you can blame everyone in life for all the pain they caused you…and live this way for the rest of your miserable life. OR You can say to yourself and the rest of the world…look part of my life was rough, more like HELL, BUT I WILL NOT EVER INFLICT THAT HELL ON ANYONE. Just because I had it terrible does not give me cause to use that pain to hurt someone else or use it to make people feel sorry for me. I as a mature person need help and I need to take it and grow even tho sometimes going back to walk through the pain is scary, I have to do it FOR ME. Sabrina, once you start to live in the light of the truth, in spite of the pain, life becomes an open door to greater things. We can choose, how we act. You need help girlfriend, but you are the only one who can call out for it. I am sorry to see that you are still living in the world of a very angry person. If you love your son(s) as you say you do, do the right thing and get some help and give them the VERY BEST you have to offer. Do not make your children suffer as you had to suffer at the hands of angry, selfish, confused, and very Scared “adults”. Step up to the plate and get yourself some help, you will see that life is better for you. Now I will leave you with some things I learned THE HARD WAY: If you always do what you always did, you will always get what you always got…If you want to have what you have never had, you have got to do what you have never done. Please never wish evil on anyone as it will surely come back to you 100 fold.nAnd Jared, you LIED. Sabrina did not go to Fl until after Mathew was born! If you want to raise an honest child you must be an honest person. Your child watches very move you make and listens to every word you speak. I wish you both much love and many prayers in your lives, may you find peace and happiness always. Victoria Come on http://tropaadet.dk/sharitrevino95701081830

    sharitrevino95701

    April 8, 2016 at 3:38 am


Leave a Reply

